Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

What’s Going On Here?

The other night Sampson got up off the couch and went to lie at the top of the stairs. This is his station when he is waiting for one of us to come home.

Except we were both home, sitting on the couch.

I got up off the couch very quietly so I could take the picture and then I peered down the stairs to see if my suspicions were right.

Yup, Bob was at the bottom of the stairs.

I can’t figure this dog out, some days he won’t walk thru a door if the cat is on the other side, some days he will blast thru the door to chase the cat.

So what was he doing the other night?  Was he daring the cat?  Was he guarding his domain?  Or was he watching the cat to make sure he wasn’t being naughty?

I can’t tell.   Any insights?

Book update: My book has 7,779 words.

Comments on: "What’s Going On Here?" (22)

  1. Thunder is the same. Sometimes he totally ignores the cat and other times he bugs her. I think it depends on if he feels playful or not.

  2. I think he’s waiting for the cat to do something interesting. Indiana will totally Onyx unless he is feeling fiesty.

  3. He’d be lucky if the cat didn’t rush at him and swat him! LOL….that’s funny about Indiana and Onyx. Go figure.

  4. I have no idea but I just have to tell you that everytime I read that your cat is named Bob I laugh out loud. I don’t know why I find this so funny and so perfect but I do. 🙂

    • It makes us laugh too! It’s not our cat, it’s our daughters and I don’t know why but Bob Stone makes us laugh. Everyone who hears his name loves it.

      We say, BAAAAB, BAAAAB Stone and then we laugh.

  5. For five years, my dog has shared my bed with the same cat, who has been in my life longer than the dog has. In the middle of the night last night, the cat jumped up on the bed and the dog jumped out from under the covers and over to the side and barked and growled until the cat jumped off. Why? Nobody knows, except the dog.

    • They are funny creatures. If Bob jumps up on the bed and Sampson doesn’t see him, Bob can stay there. If Bob is there first, Sampson won’t jump on the bed. 🙂

  6. I think it was a dare: “Come on, Bob, come and get me… you know you want to…”

  7. I reckon Sampson is in a playful mood, and is just waiting for Bob to make a move, so he can pounce on him – playtime!

    • I really do think Sampson wants to play, he is not typically a vicious dog, I remember my other daughter’s cat, Ollie. Sampson would go up to Ollie where he was sleeping and stick his nose underneath him and give him a little flip as if to say, hey come on, let’s play. 🙂

  8. The moment you take your eye off a cat then you’ve already lost. They are devious and sly, I know this from my experiences with Raffles and Milly. I often sit at the bottom of the stairs waiting for them to do something bad.

  9. Frankie Furter and Ernie said:

    I think it is a DARE!!!

  10. “Bob” cracks me up too. And I love those beady eyes glowing from below.

  11. Did I ever tell you Bob’s origins? My old roommate Lauren and her friend got drunk at our apartment and let our other cat, Mischa (Twink’s twin sister) out of the house. Mischa never came back, so Lauren decided it was a great excuse to get a kitten. She didn’t take very good care of Bob and he was only 8 weeks old, and Twink was missing her sister so she took care of Bob like he was a baby 😀

    Bob’s original name was Killian, but 3/4 of our household thought it was stupid, and we could name him a name like Bob and it would be better than Killian. And so, Bob stuck 😉

  12. Sampson just knows that cat’s are evil. Once one has you in his sights, it’s best to lay very, very still.

  13. too funny! I think Sampson is laying there, so calmly, just waiting for Bob to make his sneaky sly move up the stairs- yes it is a Dare! Sampson’s like, come on, make my day… you, you, Feline!

Leave a comment