Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Before I start this post I want to say a BIG THANK YOU to Chuck and Collies of the Meadow, last week they bestowed their Collies Choice award on this blog.  If you have a minute pop over and say hello to Chuck.  His collie Trevor is failing and I’m sure a kind word would make him feel better.

Sampson is a people dog.  Don’t let his enthusiastic run up to your dog fool you, once the greeting is over he will be leaning on your leg encouraging you to pet him.

When we pulled up to the park yesterday morning Bob and Marge (a couple we’ve met on the trail) were just walking in.  Sampson was super excited.  By the time I opened the door to let the dogs out Bob and Marge had made their way into the field.

Sampson jumped out of the car and started to run up the path.  He’s usually very good about not getting too far ahead of me and apparently he had reached his comfort zone and turned around and came back to me.

Being a projective thinker I figured by the time we got to the field they would be long gone.

I was wrong.

They were stretching.  Still I felt like we shouldn’t bother them, so despite the eager look in Sampson’s eyes, I told him, no let’s go this way.

We headed up the hill.

I enjoy the hikes as much as the dogs but I usually let them choose the walk, and yesterday Sampson chose to head back to the field.  Not being a projective thinker, he assumed Bob and Marge would be where he left them.

Sampson was wrong, but that doesn’t matter.  What matters is being the dog, he found a way around his obstacle (which was me not allowing him into the field.)

Sampson came at his obstacle from a different direction.

You can over-come your obstacles. Be The Dog.

 

What kind of obstacles are preventing you from achieving your goals? What can you do to over-come them?

Don’t let obstacles get in your way.

Be The Dog.

Comments on: "Obstacles – Be The Dog" (17)

  1. Wow – the lessons they teach us. Obstacles are in my way, but I know that I should not let them stop me from getting to my destination.

  2. “Today, I will let nothing stand in my way. I AM THE DOG!”

  3. Lovely post!

    Bella and DiDi

  4. I think I could overcome obstacles easily if i were as single minded as a dog. Unfortunately i have to weigh all the contingencies in every situation.

    Yeah, I know, Be the dog.

  5. Hey Jodi – just read this post and your last one back to back, and I think its great that you now have your very own catch phrase “be the dog” and are going to use it on your blog. These two posts were great, and I look forward to the future ones you plan to post. Its wonderful that you are being innovated to build your readership…I always enjoy checking out what you’ve got to say, and following along with your adventures with Delilah!

  6. Wow that’s a good question. If I have an idea or a spark of motivation I have to follow up on it immediately, otherwise I succumb to a sort of feeling of “what’s the point…” And yes, that’s where “being the dog” would come in–if I were a dog I would automatically act immediately upon having an idea. Not a bad philosophy for getting things done!

  7. Great post! And I love that phrase “be the dog”.

  8. Thank you and God Bless You!!!! 🙂

  9. I like your “Be the Dog” post too. Very inspirational!

  10. I like your catch phrase “Be the Dog” Just getting caught up after a long and busy weekend, great posts and I love love love that photo of Sampson, what soulful eyes!!

  11. Congratulations on your Collies Choice Award Jodi – I am a big fan of Chuck and the Collies! I will take your advice and try to Be The Dog 🙂

  12. I think Sampson has a very good memory. 🙂 Love that picture of him.

Leave a comment