Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Yesterday was Sampson’s 7th birthday.

Just like every year I planned a family party for him. I planned it for later in the day so he could start his birthday with a walk in the woods. I had planned on having my grandson for the day, so he walked with us.

I’m not sure how your family feels about birthday parties for your dogs, but I’m pretty sure there are at least a couple of my family members, who think it’s just silly.  I go to Dairy Queen and pick up an ice cream cake, so they come regardless of whether they think it’s silly or not.

Since we don’t feed the dogs ice cream cake, they need a special treat.  My grandson picked them out.

Sampson's Treat

Delilah's Treat

My mom and sister really spoil the dogs, they always bring bags full of toys and treats.  We set the bags on the floor and let them investigate on their own.

Delilah went outside just before Sampson “opened” his gifts, so he had a moment or two with no-one taking his toys. 🙂

The party was fairly uneventful; with the exception of needing a guard at the food table to prevent Delilah from inhaling it. 😉

What I learned yesterday:

A dog who is always good, will still lick the ice cream cake off a high chair.

If you leave a box of wings on the counter and take your grandson to the carnival, the dog who is bad will eat the box of wings.

Comments on: "Birthday Parties….Day Two Hundred, Forty Three" (15)

  1. Anonymous said:

    how wonderful to celebrate the furry family members birthday they know they r loved that way. i do holidays for my kitties i give them cans of turkey n giblets cat foods n buy special kitty toys they find lying among the other gifts it’s so funny to watch…i hope ur dogs have many more birthdays…enjoy n don’t worry about what any one says every one likes a birthday party

  2. pawsitivelife said:

    I am so glad that I am not theonly one who celebrates their dogs (or ferrets) birthday!

  3. Michelle Martins said:

    Of course our pets should get birthday parties!! They’re our family!!

  4. I love seeing pets get so spoilt by their owners. Sampson & Delilah would have a blast!!! Unfortunately I don’t know the birth dates of my pooches because they were both rescues. I think I should simple make up a date to celebrate them getting one year older…Thanks for inspiring me to do so 🙂

    • Dr. Rayya, when we rescued Delilah we didn’t have her birthdate. They told us she was 18 months so we counted back and I chose a day in December that was meaningful to me, December 14th; my grandmother’s birthday. Our vet lists it as December 1st, but we celebrate her life on the 14th. 🙂

      Pick a date for your babies and celebrate. They bring so much joy.

  5. A belated happy birthday to Sampson! Looks like he had a wonderful bday.

  6. A birthday party for dogs. What a great idea! Sounds like the only casualty was the box of wings, well maybe not every dog considers it a casualty….lol.

    • Oh Delilah didn’t think it was a casualty. :O Yes, I always have a party for them, Delilah’s is in December so it is usually pizza.

  7. We celebrated Molly’s first birthday in June, I wanted a party but hubby said no, although he did let me light a candle on the treat I bought her, and let me sing. Molly was appropriately delighted!

    Glad you guys had a nice time!

  8. I really like the first photo with your grandson in the hat leading the dogs. So cute!

Leave a comment