Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Have you seen the commercial (I think it’s for the Humane Society) of the sad little dogs and cats in cages, waiting for their forever homes, while the song “In The Arms Of An Angel” by Sarah McLaughlin plays in the background?  Wherever I am in the house, when I hear that song I scream, “Change the channel!”

It breaks my heart.  I cannot stand to see the pictures of their sweet little faces.  I picture them waiting, watching hopefully as people walk by their cages, only to be disappointed when they are passed over once again for someone younger or cuter.

Whenever I mention my desire to save animals to hubby he says, “You can’t save them all.” 

Deep down, I know he is right, but that doesn’t make me feel any better.  Which is one of the reasons I have a dream to one day have a sanctuary for animals.  Right now though it is still only a dream.  A dream I hope someday will come true.

In the meantime while I write and wait, I think about what I CAN do right now, to help.  I did of course rescue Delilah, and while I would love to rescue another dog it is not in the budget right now, besides we really have our hands full with that girl!

Love and A Leash had a beautiful post about an elderbull currently in foster;  Lady Zabora has some medical issues and Love is sponsoring a raffle to help raise money for her medical care. 

I read the post and had every intention of discussing with hubby and making my donation, then life got in my way and I totally forgot about it!  I was reminded by Rescued Insanity this morning, so without consulting hubby, I went right over and made my donation. 

No, I can’t save all of them, but I can try to help in any way I can to make sure as many as possible get another chance.  

Lady Zabora

 

 

Comments on: "One Dog At A Time….Day Two Hundred, Seventy Four" (23)

  1. Anonymous said:

    My heart hurts for them and for you. I have the same problem. If I go to a shelter for whatever reason, I think about those poor un-adopted animals for the next week. And that commercial is gut wrenching (as it was meant to be).

    Your husband is right but that doesn’t make it any easier. All you can do is take solace in the fact that you are providing love and comfort to two very deserving animals. Good luck on your dream, I hope you are able to bring it to fruition in the future. It is a noble aspiration.

  2. Frankie Furter said:

    Maybe you can do some type of volunteer work fur a shelter… like printing up signs or creating a BLOG for them or something. Even going to yard and garage sales and asking the people if they would donate any sheets or blankets or towels that Don’t get sold.
    No, we can’t save them all… butt we CAN do some thingys that HELP some.
    I can’t STAND those ads. I don’t find them to be one bit “helpful”. They mean NOTHING to the ones they are supposed to effect… and they just CRUSH the rest of us.

    • That’s a great idea Frankie. I think I will reach out to my friend Ann and see what I can do.

      You are right about the commercials, the ones who can help are already doing it, the commercial is really exploiting animals.

  3. I hope Lady Zabora gets the help she needs.

  4. Hi Jodi,
    what a lovely post!
    While that is true we can’t save them all what you did by making a donation is a way of showing support and concern for the animals that end up in shelters. I to try to donate money, items my time what ever I can to help out, I have friends that work with CBRR&R which is a Chesapeake rescue and some of the fosters they get in breaks my heart to know where they came from and the kind of life they had but then when I see them get their new forever home and the immediate bonding that sometimes happens it does my heart good.

    • Misty,you are awesome for helping out when you can. It makes my heart glad there are people looking out for animals and doing what they can.

      Maybe we can make a difference!

  5. I agree…esp. since that song played during a devastating part of The Witness, a movie about the fur industry that haunted me. I can’t listen to it anymore!

    The fact of how many animals are in shelters can certainly be immobilizing, and it doesn’t help us to be reminded of how many of them won’t get out 😦 I cope by thinking of all the ones who WILL be saved, by people like you and Aleks and all our wonderful fellow fosters and rescuers and people who volunteer at shelters and people who adopt from shelters. The more involved we get, however we do it (and I personally don’t think that donating to HSUS is the best way to do it), the more hope there is!

  6. Kirsten, how right you are! We cannot focus on the negative (the ones we cannot save) instead we can focus positive energy on the ones we can save.

    I agree with you about HSUS, I will donate to dogs like Zabora, or local rescue or shelters, places where I can SEE where the money is going. 🙂

    Thank you for your comment.

  7. Great post. I’ve heard that phrase so many times, “You can’t save them all” – and while it is true, it is also heartbreaking. A sanctuary like you want to one day run would be awesome – I hope you reach your goal one day!! And making donations of money or items are definitely helpful too!!

    I do know exactly how you feel, we have adopted rescues over here too, and I try to donate when I can, or write about topics like adoption and not buying from puppy mills, and training with positive reinforcement, but I always want to do more. But right now I don’t have the funds, room, or time to do anything else. I do hope to be able to foster one day. Even if I can foster just one at a time – its one less dog in the shelter, and makes room for another to be saved.

    • I totally agree Donna! I cannot foster (right now) but fully intend to one day, in the meantime when I can spare $20 I will be donating to a shelter or rescue group. I also intend on entering the BlogPaws contest in hopes of winning money for my favorite shelter. 🙂

      I think for now what we can do is write, write about fostering, write about rescuing and hopefully the States will pass some kind of laws against puppy mills. They are horrible places and horrible people who exploit animals.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  8. That commercial gets me teary eyed every time! I too wish there was more I could do but unfortunately fostering is not an option right now. I donate what little I can whenever I can. A few friends from a Labrador board I frequent started a Lab Rescue in New Orleans so I try to help them out whenever possible.

    “Saving the life of one animal may not change the world, but the world will surely change for that one animal” –> I love that quote and see it often on rescue pages.

  9. The most successful ads are those that inspire emotions. So the (famous? notorious?) Sarah MacLachlan ad is probably quite successful.

    Edie Jarolim at Will My Dog Hate Me thinks depressing ads just make people despair. She started a series of posts called “Dog Adoption Videos That Don’t Make Me Want to Kill Myself.” It’s terrific. If you haven’t seen any of them, you should check them out.

    • Thanks for sharing that Pamela, I will check them out. It just breaks my heart to see them and I turn the channel. I don’t think that is the goal they are trying to achieve. 😦

  10. Thanks for sharing the information about Lady Zabora! She is not the only dog in need but I think by helping her we are all making a huge difference. It’s impossible to say how many people are inspired by her story and will now go out to help dogs like her in their own communities. Even a $5 donation can make a significant difference. As someone who has worked in the non-profit industry for a long time, who’s job relies on the generosity of others, I know all too well how much one donation can do. Maybe we can’t save them all but by saving one, we save countless others.

    • We do what we can and I am glad to share her information and hopefully generate some kind of positive energy for her!

      I had no idea you worked NP, I really need to get toether with you and see what types of fundraising ideas I can glean from your brain….:-) Any thoughts on next year’s BlogPaws? 😉

  11. I don’t know what I could say that hasn’t already been said before me. Don’t ever feel like you’re not doing anything or making a difference, because you are!! When I was the president of the Golden Retriever rescue, there were people who donated a lot of money, others a small amount, some could only give their time and/or fostering one dog a year. But all of that put together did make a difference and it always left me humbled and grateful and reminded me that making a difference for an animal in need, is never, ever something small or insignificant!

  12. Kim, you are so special and I thank you for your kind words. People like YOU are who inspire me to be a better person, to give more of myself. Having become a follower of your blog you have helped me decide that my next dog will more than likely be a senior. I had thought I wanted a puppy, but reading your blog and how you give home, hope and love to your rescues has changed my mind. The world is a better place because of people like you.

    Thank you

  13. I can’t watch that commercial either, Jodi, for the same reason. My Companions works with people who will foster dogs for them, I did it a couple of times back when I owned my own house. It’s very rewarding. Good luck.

Leave a comment