Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Snarky Dogs

We had our first play date with another dog at our house yesterday. 

I was a little nervous as to how Delilah would react, so we wanted to introduce the dogs in the best way possible.  I’ve heard all kinds of ways to introduce dogs, but this is what we decided to do.

Since the new dog, Pheebs was female we introduced Sampson first.  As I’ve mentioned previously Sampson is very good off leash so Hubby brought him outside and made him wait while our friend got out of the car.  Then he released Sampson to welcome our guest.

Then Sampson noticed Pheebs in the car so our friend opened the door and Pheebs jumped out.   After a quick greeting, she started running around the yard and then she ran up to the front door where Delilah was waiting.  When she approached the door Delilah started gnashing her teeth, barking and growling.  😦  This really wasn’t a surprise because Delilah tends to be snarky with other dogs when there is something between them.

I opened the door and Delilah came charging out, but after a quick few seconds where both girls stood stiffly still sniffing each other they were off and running.

I opened the gate to the back yard and all three dogs ran inside, where they continued checking each other out.  Then we opened the door from inside the house and they all came inside.

As it turns out I didn’t need to worry about Delilah at all.  She and Pheebs were fast friends, they played like Sampson and Delilah usually play.  Everywhere Delilah went Pheebs was right behind her.  🙂  It was so cute.

Sampson was the snarky one. 😦

Comments on: "Snarky Dogs" (11)

  1. Delilah is turning into a social gadfly. She’s a good girl!

  2. Our dogs do continue to surprise us with their niceness.

  3. That’s fantastic, all friends together!

  4. All’s well that ends well 🙂 Well done Delilah!

  5. Dogs really are like kids, aren’t they? You just never know what they’ll do!!

    By the way, I am so, so sorry, but I never thanked you for including me in the award–I will pick it up very soon!! THANK YOU for thinking of me!!!

    I hope your week is off to a good start!!! 🙂

  6. 🙂 I love watching Flo and her doggy friends. I love even watching her as she realises we’re getting near one of their houses, it’s really cute. Hopefully Delilah (and maybe even Sampson) will enjoy many more play dates!

    H and Flo

  7. Ah well dogs have got to work out their pecking order and Sampson might have been a bit jealous of Delilah’s new pal. It sounds like they had fun and more play dates will be in order. 🙂

  8. Delilah your the girl and yes I agree with 2 brown dawgs, sounds like Sampson might have been a bit jealous 😉

  9. Yay for Delilah but what happened with Sampson? I hope he wasn’t too naughty.

    I’ve never had a playdate for our dog at our house and I have no idea how it would go. Shiva likes other dogs fine (now anyway) but I don’t know how she would take one in her territory. It would be interesting. Since we don’t have a fenced yard, we won’t get to find out for a while.

  10. Just goes to show you know your dogs well. Nice job, and so glad they hit it off!

  11. […] Snarky Dogs – Author’s Note […]

Leave a comment