Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Charitable Acts

Do you trim your dog’s nails yourself?

I used to.  My attempts at nail clipping, ear cleaning and teeth cleaning use lots of treats.  And lots of coaxing.

There was a time when I always clipped Sampson and Delilah’s nails myself.  Sampson really doesn’t care for it and hides his head with his paw or hides his head in the sofa when the time comes.  When you call him to you he will come, but very reluctantly.  I think it is because there have been a couple of times when either Hubby or myself have cut the nail too short and made it bleed. 😦

Delilah on the other hand knows there is food involved and she will shove her way into you, completely pushing Sampson out-of-the-way.  She’s a big goof ball.

One time after our Thursday night obedience class I noticed Sara cutting someone’s nails.  I noticed she had a really nice, big clipper and she clipped even skittish dogs with no problem.

That’s when I asked her to clip Sampson and Delilah.

Keep in mind the Mellow Mutt is a doggie daycare and training facility,with a lovely little retail section.  There is a groomer at the Mellow Mutt, but she rents the space, and technically is her own boss.

Not that Sara can’t (and doesn’t do) grooming, bathing and trimming.  But her passion is training and daycare.

One day when I was dropping the dogs off for daycare, Murphy’s mom asked for Murphy to have a bath and a nail clip.  She asked how much the nail clipping was.

Imagine both our surprises when we were told by Sue, “Sara doesn’t charge for nail clipping, she asks that you make a donation to a dog related cause.”

How freaking nice is that?

Sara also still has her food donation box out so if you don’t want write out a check for a donation, you can drop off a bag of food.

After I dropped S & D off this morning I got to thinking about their nails and how long it has been since they were clipped.  So I called Sara up and asked if she would mind clipping them.

Here’s the answer I got.

“I was just laying on the floor making out with Sampson and I mentioned that his nails were looking pretty long.  He hid his paw and said, “Don’t look at them Auntie Sara.”  🙂

They both had their nails clipped today and I told Sara I would pick up a back of food and add it to the donation box.

I think what Sara is doing is really awesome and I think it’s awesome she chooses to provide this service to animals in need.

Book update:  My book has 1,646 words

Comments on: "Charitable Acts" (13)

  1. Frankie Furter and Ernie said:

    My mom Used to Clip my nails.. butt now she has this nifty File thingy… and I LOVE IT.

    I think LOTS MORE PLACES should be doing nail trims fur donations. My Vet charges $12.00 to clip nails. Miss Buzz Off my groomer lady Charges $10.00 butt I must say.. SHE does an AWESOME job.

    • We tried the nifty file thing but Sampson was more afraid of that than the clippers!

      I agree Frankie, more places should do trims for donations, it is a great cause.

  2. I used to have someone else clip my animal’s nails, but as I added more animals, it became ridiculously expensive. That is so awesome that she does it for donations. What a great idea!

  3. Awe their nails look nice. We clip our own dogs’ nails. It is great that Sara does it for donations. 🙂

    • Truthfully I would clip their nails, but it is so much easier to have Sara do it, and since they’re at Sara’s three times per week it’s not like I have to make an extra trip to get them done. 🙂

  4. I am too afraid to clip Lila’s nails! I go to a place that charges $10.00 – well worth the money!

  5. That’s a great idea – encourages people to give to a good cause on a regular basis, and encourages them to get their dogs’ nails done on a regular basis as well. I’m not sure how much the places near me charge – the vet has trimmed a particularly long nail once or twice when i go in for a checkup, and my groomer did his nails as part of grooming him last spring.
    I do Gwynn’s nails most of the time, though- I lucked out with his translucent nails (like Sampson’s, it looks like – I can’t imagine trying to trim black nails!), though, so I can always see where the quick is. Not that he has any faith in me when I do cut his nails, but he suffers through it. He also walks on asphalt and concrete enough that most of his back nails are worn down without the need of trimming.

    • Sampson’s are light and I usually only trim his front ones. If I do them myself I will take just the curved part, but never his back feet. He must get enough walking so they really don’t need to be trimmed.

  6. That is a great thing Sara does!

    I trim my own dogs nails, I use clippers and a grinder. I really love the grinder as it does a very nice job and I don’t have to worry about cutting the quick.

    • That is the great thing about the grinder, but Sampson hates it. I can’t stand to see him tremble and I won’t use it. Someone will get a nice grinder in the tag sale for like $5. LOL

  7. […] Charitable Acts – Author’s Note […]

Leave a comment