Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

This morning was a busy one, it was my pick-up dogfood day and I figured while I was out, I would get some of my weekend running done, in the hopes that tomorrow I can relax a bit.

My journeys today took me to the town I used to live in and past the town dump.  In this town (unless it’s changed) the dog pound is inside the landfill.  I know, gross.

As I was driving past the dump this thought popped into my head, “I just want to go inside and pull a dog.”  I’ve honestly never had that thought pop into my mind while driving past that area before.

Before you get too excited, no I did not stop.  I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt what Hubby would say.

Then early this afternoon I got a facebook message from one of my friends asking if I was still interested in fostering.

Ummmmm, whatcha got?

She has a friend who is going to Ecuador for a year to teach.  She has a five-year old black lab named Nikko and she has someone who will stay at her apartment and care for the dog, but she’s not sure the dog will get everything he’s used to.  Hmmmm….

So I mentioned it to Hubby and he said, “No.  We have enough with the two we have.”

I walked away and under my breath I said, “You suck.”

I decided I needed some shopping therapy and so I headed out to Kohl’s.

On my way home I really thought about bringing another dog into the house.  For a year.

I thought about how Sampson is sometimes snarky with other males.

I thought about how difficult the adjustment was when Delilah joined our pack.

I thought about how my food bill for my dogs is already higher than the food bill for the humans.

I thought about how I struggle sometimes just walking two dogs.

I thought about how Sampson and Delilah go to daycare two days a week and what would Nikko do.

I thought about how small my bed seems with two humans and two dogs in it.

I thought about how we all would fall in love with Nikko and lose him after a year.

I thought about how Sampson and Delilah’s lives would change with the long-term addition of a third dog and decided long-term fostering isn’t the way to go for me.

When I got home Hubby said, “You know, we could probably do it.”

I said, “No.”

So if anyone’s interested in fostering a dog for about a year or you know someone who might be, leave me a message in the comments or shoot me an e-mail at auntiejodi@hotmail.com.  As my friend pointed out, Nikko does have someone to care for him, he may just miss some things for a while.

No progress on my book today.

 

Comments on: "Foster Opportunity In Connecticut" (13)

  1. I think it might be different with a short term foster, than a long term. I think i would really struggle with a one-year foster. Maybe you can warm hubby up to the idea with a couple short term fosters. Check with rescues in your area – I know a few here do weekend fosters taking dogs out of the shelter environment for even a few days to help them lear about life in a home or even short term foster placements, such as for puppies before they get neutered or while they wait to go to their approved home etc. I bet yoou can talk him into anything…for a few days ;0)

  2. It’s good that you realized that it would be too much! It would be really difficult to have a dog for a year, and then return Nikko back to the owner.

    The dog pound is inside a landfill? I have never heard of such a thing! Maybe you could fill us in on that a little more (no pun intended).

    • I think there would be too much attachment on everyone’s part, even Nikkos. I would be worried that he would change and act differently when she gets home.

      Yes, in that town there is a small building set off to the side, before you actually get to the dumping part and that is where they impound the dogs. It is not a shelter, it is the local dog pound, most ponds that I know of are in out of the way spots.

      There is the Sadie Mae Foundation in that town and I’m not sure if they pull animals or not.

  3. Michelle Martins said:

    Nikkos will be fine & I will def keep you up to date on how he is doing while his mom goes & tries to save our world 😉

  4. If you do, I’m sure Nikko’s mom would love it as much as Nikkos! 😉

  5. Three dogs is definitely more work than two. I think I would have a tough time keeping the dog a year and then having to say good bye.

    • That would be the hardest part, having him so long and bonding with us and then having to let him go. I think I could do short-term, but not long.

  6. It’s funny how you and your husband both had time to think about it and both changed your minds. 2browndawgs makes a good point – it would have been tough keeping the dog a year and then having to say good bye.

    • That was my biggest concern, a whole year. The dogs bonding and loving each other, playing, walking and sleeping together and then letting one go. It would be like (to me) a death. 😦

  7. […] Foster Opportunity – Update […]

Leave a comment