Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Our First Shivie

In yesterday’s post I mentioned that we had received two awards and told you I would share the second award today.

Well as you can see from the title I’ve been awarded “Shiva the Dog’s PerSeverance Award” from Kristine and Shiva over at Rescued Insanity.

Perseverance Award 2012

When Kristine established the ‘Shivies’ last year, she gave the award to ten dedicated bloggers.  This year she dedicated the ‘Shivie’ to ” People who have sacrificed their very sanity for the love of a dog.

And she awarded it to us and nine other incredible blogs.  You can check out the complete post here.

When I was in college my favorite class and the very last one I took to complete my degree was Interpersonal Relationships.  I missed the very first class because we were away on vacation but I had e-mailed the instructor to let him know why I would be absent.  Yes my kids called me a brown-noser, but I chose to think of it as….um…interpersonal relationships.

This class was very diversified and there were some students much younger than I was, in fact I might have been the oldest in that particular class, but that isn’t the point.   The point is we got to talk about relationships and get to know each other by sharing thoughts, opinions and feelings.

This may come as a surprise to you, but I was very verbal in that class.  I know, I surprise myself sometimes too.

The instructor had devised awards for this class, he called them “The Stoneys” and I loved it because well, my last name is Stone. Duh.

The Stoney’s had something like five different categories (I can’t remember what they all were now) but the twist was the instructor didn’t choose the students to present the awards to, he let the class choose.  He passed out a sheet with each category on it as well as a sheet with each student’s name on it and he asked the students to choose which among their peers was deserving of each award.

For the last class of the semester we had a potluck supper and we all gathered in a conference room to celebrate our successful completion of Interpersonal Relationships.  At that time, our instructor presented the Stoney Awards.  Before he began his presentation he made a little speech where he said that the class chose exactly the way he himself would have.

Imagine my surprise when the instructor presented “Contributed the Most to the Class” to me.  I was stunned, humbled, flabbergasted, excited, proud and honored all at the same time.

The Stoney

And that is exactly how I feel about receiving the Shivie.

Kristine says the Shivie is for “People who have sacrificed their very sanity for the love of a dog.”

Ok, ok, she does at times drive me to the brink of insanity. 🙂 No, not Kristine, Delilah!

But the thing is I don’t feel like I am doing anything different from any of you would or have done, including Kristine herself.

I mean, yes there are days when I truly wonder if Delilah will eventually be my downfall.  Whether it be by driving me to insanity or physically killing me, I’m not entirely sure.

Hubby always says, “She is one dog that is happy to be alive.”  And that is true, Delilah embraces life, she runs head on full throttle at it.  Her attitude is “bring it on.”

There are many days where I have to laugh at this zany, exuberant, jumping, crazy dog because if I didn’t, I would put my head down and sob.

I waffle between thinking she is mildly retarded to down right dumb to just excited to have someone who wants to spend time with her.  I can’t help but love her, because she gives me no other choice.  She demands that.  She has that “You will love me and you will have fun doing it” attitude.

Life isn’t always easy and we have to find our joy and laughter where we can, Delilah brings both of those things into my life and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Kristine, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for this wonderful award and I only pray that someday Delilah will be as good as Shiva.

 

 

Comments on: "Our First Shivie" (19)

  1. Wow – super congratulations!

  2. Congratulations on your award(s)!! I love your description of Delilah 🙂

  3. Congratulations Jodi – on both awards. You are so funny when you talk about Delilah 🙂

  4. Congrats! I’m glad she hasn’t driven you over the edge quite yet 🙂

  5. Frankie Furter and Ernie said:

    I Loved the STONEY story. THAT is grrreat. And so is Deliah!!!

  6. That class sounds like my worst nightmare! I would have won the Stoney for “Sitting in a Corner and Hiding.” So double congratulations go to you on being so brave!

    I love your description of Delilah! People tell me all the time they envy Shiva’s enthusiasm and drive. I try to tell myself that even if we never win a ribbon or a Q, she will win every time the award for being the happiest dog on the agility course. Hands-down.

    Congratulations again! I had so much fun putting it all together and I am so glad I could share it with you. 🙂

    • That class was a challenge for some people. There was a young girl in it and she was very angry because she’d had a hard life and lost her brother to a serious illness at an early age. She said I ‘intimidated’ her, which I certainly didn’t mean to! The last night of class she gave me a hug, my point is that Wendy got thru it and you would have too. You don’t give yourself nearly enough credit Kristine.

      You have done wonders with Shiva, and I love your attitude, but trust me you’ve already gotten a blue ribbon for what you have done for her.

      Thank you again for putting this together and sharing it with me, it means more than you know.

  7. Congrats on the award, and I just loved this post. 🙂

    • Thanks Donna, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I always feel so much pressure when I have one of these award posts to do. I want to remember everything and make it seem like I’m actually deserving and know how to write.

      BTW, congrats yourself. I did note that you are a fellow Shivie winner!

  8. […] Our First Shivie – Author’s Note […]

  9. Congrats on your award. Life would indeed be dull without our “Delilahs”. 🙂

  10. But Jodi…. Did you have sanity to begin with? 😉

Leave a comment