Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Disbelief

Did you ever have one of those days?

It started off fine, then a few harsh words from a co-worker and my mood had changed.

I went to my google reader to check out what my friends had to say and I found “Long Term Shelter Dogs : How Long Is Too Long?” at Talking Dogs Blog.  The post made me weep and I feel so sad for this beautiful dog, Hailey that I’ve cried on and off most of the day.

Hailey

Eight years old and she’s spent all but two months of it in a shelter.

I tried to leave a comment on the blog saying I was going to check with my friend at Labs 4 Rescue to see if they could find a foster home for her but I’m having trouble commenting on some blogs so the comment isn’t showing up.

I asked Hubby at lunch, “Please can I get another dog? I just want to try to find her a good home.”

He said no and he’s right, like many of you we struggle monthly to meet our obligations.  Another dog and all that goes with it just wouldn’t work right now.

But Hailey hung with me, darting in and out of my mind all day.

I couldn’t decide if I wanted to take Delilah to Obedience Class tonight or not.  I waffled back and forth, finally desperation to see my friend and talk about Hailey pushed me out the door.

When I pulled into the Training Center the lot was full, we were the last ones in and it was packed.  Fifteen dogs all told.  And a number of them were new dogs.

I tried.  I really did.

First there was the new beagle (I think) mix that went at Delilah, who naturally caught me off guard and went right back at her.  The leash snapped my fingers and I lost my shoe trying to keep Delilah from chewing her up and spitting her out.

Then there was an excited pitbull mix that couldn’t seem to focus and kept going after other dogs around her.  Sarah had her in the center of the floor, helping her to settle down and not react to the other dogs.

Depending on which way we were walking I had to Boston Terrier type dogs in front of me and two yellow labs behind me and vice versa.  The guy working one of the yellow labs kept repeating his commands, “Sit, Sit, Sit, Sit, Sit, Sit, Sit” until I wanted to scream at him and say, some day you’re going to wonder why your dog doesn’t sit when you say sit!

There was a Doberman Pinscher who has been there before.  The first time she was there Delilah wanted a piece of her.  Just before the break the Dobie started getting vocal and I said to Delilah, “We’ll leave at the break and I’ll take you for a little walk.”

I know you get it when I say you could feel the tension in the room.

I’m sure it was me and my frame of mind, but I couldn’t take the chance of setting Delilah up to fail or lose the great progress she has made.  So I left.

Oh and yes my friend from Labs 4 Rescue wasn’t there, so I still haven’t talked to her about Hailey.

Can you say anything to me in the comments that will help me wrap my head around a dog in a shelter for eight years?

I just can’t believe it.

Comments on: "Disbelief" (18)

  1. Despite what that post states, I suspect there is more to the story. 8 years is too long at a shelter. In all of that time they could not find someone looking for that dog? Nobody to get that dog out and about where someone might see her and be interested? At eight if she is the dog depicted in the email, it seems to me that she would make a perfect companion for an older person looking for a dog. I just feel like there might be something not being said, or maybe that shelter has requirements that people who may be interested in that dog cannot meet.

    We had puppy class tonight. Some unruly dogs in the class after us. A mean Dob and a nasty Belgian Tervuren (at least that is what it looks like). Neither owner has any idea how to control these dogs despite this being week 4 of the class for them. Then they must always place themselves by the door which means their unruly dogs try to attack all those coming in. Come on people get a clue and move away from the door.

    • Thank you. I still can’t believe it, you may very well be right. Sometimes the shelters and rescue put a lot of requirements on adopting. I know a lady who does Newf rescue and she won’t place a dog unless the adopter has a fenced yard. Not everyone can afford a fence so maybe some of them don’t get adopted.

      While I appreciate the fact that people with challenging dogs are working on the issues, I don’t want it done to the detriment of my dog.

      I’m sorry that you are experiencing this in your puppy class, perhaps the instructor could encourage them to move away from the door, so the dogs stop guarding or at the least they should be distracting their dogs to keep them from checking the door.

      I agree, many people are clueless.

      • Our puppy class is great. The “mean” dogs are coming for the next obedience class. They really should have private lessons and then once their behavior improves, move to the group class. If I were in that class, you know I would be complaining. 🙂

        There are a couple no-kill rescues here that are not up front about the severe behavioral issues of their dogs. I am sure they disclose if anyone shows interest in the dog, but in the rescue listing…no. IMO not every dog can be saved, but that is a discussion for another day. If you ever look at the Chessie Rescue ads, they are very up front about any “issues” a dog may have.

  2. wantmorepuppies said:

    That’s such a sad tale. 😦 The shelter where I work has an entire area for long-term residents – they have pretty nice digs, considering, but it breaks my heart every time I walk by and see their faces. I realize that sometimes there are valid reasons that a dog can’t be placed, but it’s still very sad to hear – the story you shared is especially heartbreaking, as puppies usually go faster and this gal has been there almost her whole life. It really doesn’t make any sense.

  3. I have a great many thoughts about that post myself. I do some work (tangentially) with shelters but most of the work I do is with rescues, one of which is a Retriever group. We work with any shelter that will work with us and, though small, have an excellent reputation of placing dogs in the right home. There are so many Lab/Retriever rescue groups willing to help, it’s unconscionable that this poor dog has lived all her days in a shelter.

    A couple of my friends and I had a long, excited conversation over dinner the other night about how some shelters are reluctant to work with breed rescues. Why isn’t this dog in rescue?

    That said, the original post appalled me. (I probably shouldn’t say that but it did.) How long is too long is the wrong question to be asking. A dog’s life is worth every effort we can afford it and alive is better than dead, even in a shelter situation.

    “Why” is a better question to ask or “how/what can we do better” even more to the point.

  4. julesmelfi said:

    Jodi – I just visited her blog and left a comment and thought I would leave it for you too:

    She is a beautiful girl and it breaks my heart to see that she has been there so long – I don’t understand it. The only saving grace is that she doesn’t know any different – to her the shelter is home, where she has lived all of her life. I try to tell myself this when I see a dog that I feel bad for and the dog still looks happy (like Hailey does). Dogs are so resilient, they tend to be happy right where they are and don’t have expectations. I hope she finds a forever home during this adoption event and gets to have the family she deserves!

    I struggle with worrying and I let things really get to me, so I totally understand. We can only hope for the best!!!

  5. kimberlywnva said:

    I’ve seen the story before, and feel those same things you did. When I was president of the Golden Retriever Rescue, we had a dog that we had in boarding for nearly a year. He was there because he had unfortunately killed a cat, and tried to bite someone. A couple of us literally felt sick about it, but our hands were tied by the ‘majority politics’ on the board of directors. The only consolation that I had was knowing that where this boy was, he was very well cared for, taken out of the kennel and had the companionship of other dogs that were there. We finally found a trainer for him, and he did end up going to a new home where he still is today. There are happy endings to these kinds of stories, and I hope this pup finds it too–With the story being everywhere, I have a feeling it will be!!!

  6. I also feel very uncomfortable with the question asked in the original post about Hailey. I feel every life is here for a reason and I’m not competent to judge whether anyone’s existence, human or otherwise, is worth it.

    I agree with 2browndawgs that there may be something left unsaid. It could even be that the shelter has adopted Hailey as their mascot and the staff and volunteers aren’t all that excited about letting her go either.

    It’s also risky for us to make judgments about what kind of life is a good one for any individual. I have met people who feel I am terribly deprived because I live in America without a cell phone, car, or television. I don’t feel deprived. I feel very, very lucky. And I know I am materially blessed.

    I suspect Hailey doesn’t feel deprived either. She’s living in the moment presented her.

    BTW, good for you in deciding to take Delilah home from the chaos at the Training Center. One of the hardest things I’ve had to learn is to protect my dog before every other consideration. You saw the atmosphere was not right for the day and you took Delilah home. Very wise.

  7. Wow – what a day you had. Sometimes I have to stop looking at the internet or even other blog posts because I get overwhelmed by all the sad stories that are not always balanced by the happy ones. You are doing good work. You have your rescues and you give them everything you can. I would love to save every animal and person that is in need of saving (hence why I have 7 rescues), but I must remember that if I do not take care of my own obligations to myself and my family, I will be no good to anyone. So, be kind to yourself for seeing the best way to protect you and Delilah that day. Also, as one commenter said, do not assume that Hailey has an unhappy or unfulfilled dog life – it is just not the life you would chose for her. Keep fighting for the underDOG. – DogDaz

  8. Eight years is indeed a very long time but I have to wonder why. If Hailey was only two months when she came to the shelter she would have been a puppy. Puppies are usually fairly easy to adopt out, so what is it about Hailey that prevented this? Has she been adopted and then returned several times? Have the shelter staff not really wanted to part with her? There are a number of factors that could be involved. Either way I hope Hailey is doing okay and I am sure the shelter is doing the best they can to care for her. Perhaps after all this time, she is better off there where she gets love from so many different people than at a home in which she will have to adjust to a completely new life.

    I am sorry your class didn’t go all that well. I think you made a good call by ending on a high not and getting Delilah out of there. This makes you a very smart dog trainer. You should be proud!

  9. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    What a tough day 😦 Hugs 🙂

    You may not be able to rescue everything or everyone, but you’re doing a great job in letting people know about Hailey and you never know, it may result in a forever home for her 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Thanks Snoopy. Can you tell me if my comments have been showing up on your blog? I’ve had some trouble with comments going to spam. 😦

  10. […] Disbelief – Author’s Note: […]

  11. What can I do to help Hailey? She’s just beautiful.

  12. Lauren @ Life With Desmond said:

    this is making me very sad. the rescue group that i support (where we found desmond) has a couple dogs who have been with them two or three years, and i find this devastating. i know that the main reasons are that the dogs are pittie mixes who don’t get along with other dogs and one of the dogs is black. it’s really upsetting, and i’ve met at least one of these dogs and know there’s really nothing wrong with her–but i guess…how many people who want to adopt a dog want to adopt a dog that knowingly does not get along with other dogs (regardless of her being a pittie or black or whatever)?

    things like this are one of the reasons why i often have a hard time deciding if i want our next move as a family to be:
    1. adopt a senior dog from a shelter/rescue
    2. adopt a long-term shelter/rescue resident dog
    3. foster foster foster and train train train while fostering

    • I feel very sad too Lauren, I think when the time comes for me I will be adopting seniors or fostering. Maybe a dog can learn to get along with other dogs if he/she has the right training.

Leave a comment