Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Monday Mischief

Miss Delilah hates having a bath.   When it’s bath time you have to coax her into the tub.  You can’t force her.  Hubby tried lifting her four years ago and ended up out of work for a week, barely able to move.

Since that time, I’ll occasionally throw treats in the tub and let her climb in and out.  I’ve also let her start ‘cleaning’ the tub after I’ve defrosted and repackaged chicken necks for their raw food.

For Christmas my youngest daughter sent me some homemade hand scrub, it is made with olive oil and sugar.  I like to use in on my feet when I’m treating myself to my weekly ‘spa treatment.’

A few weeks ago I caught Delilah in the tub and I had to laugh, she was licking up the oil/sugar mixture.  This isn’t surprising in itself if it wasn’t for the fact that the tub in question is almost as tall as Delilah.

Last week I finally got her on video climbing into the tub.  After I showed it to Hubby he said if we are going to let her do that, we might want to consider stairs so she doesn’t scratch the outside of the tub.

After watching her climb in, I decided it is not something I will continue to allow her to do.  There is oil residue in there and she could very easily hurt herself.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy watching her figuring out how to climb into the tub.

This is the Monday Mischief Blog Hop brought to you by Alfie’s Blog, Snoopy’s Dog BlogLuna a Dog’s Life and My Brown Newfies.  Thanks Alfie, Snoopy, Luna and Brown Newfies!!

You can get your linky code at any of the above listed blogs.

What are you waiting for, go see what mischief this Monday has brought. 🙂

Comments on: "Monday Mischief" (27)

  1. I know exactly what you mean about finding tricks to convince them! However our dog has developed a sixth sense lately and knows exactly when we THINK of bathing her! Great video!!!

    • LOL They do tend to figure us out, don’t they? When I’m tubbing her I usually get a bunch of treats and lure her in there, then I turn on the water. She hates it but will tolerate it. Thanks for stopping by and for commenting!

  2. HAha! That is quite the trick getting into that tub!!

    ~Higgins

  3. Delilah always cracks me up. At least she now thinks of the bath as a happy place, right? Do you think this will help get her in when there is water inside?

    • Nope, she still hates the tub. When I’m soaking in it she will come up to me but I can’t coax her inside and yet she loves to swim. Go figure.

  4. What a clever girl!!

  5. That was adorable!

  6. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    It seems to be Miss Delila is more than happy to get in the bath, but only on her terms!! Maybe she wants you to massage her feet with the scrub while she lays back and soaks?! 🙂

    Have fun and great to see you on the Mischief Blog Hop 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  7. Hawk aka BrownDog said:

    Hi Y’all,

    I take showers, not a bath. Therefore, no back problems for the humans. I love my showers and spa days.

    Just stopped by to catch up on your happenings and say hello! Have a great week!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    • Thanks Hawk, neither one of my dogs care for the shower, but I agree it would be better on my back!! Thanks for stopping by and you have a great week as well!

  8. Hehehe – I found myself cheering Delilah on while watching the video. Her long wagging tail cracked me up. 🙂

  9. Poor Delilah. She can’t figure out why the bathtub smells like food and yet it’s so hard to get in.

  10. Oh that is so cute and so funny. It was fun watching her trying to get that back leg up. Leave it to the doggies to never miss a possible treat!

  11. That is an awesome video! Lamar Latrell climbs in the tub when he knows I want him to, and so do some client dogs. But I don’t think I’ve ever seen one do it just for fun!

  12. Great video – as I watched it I wondered if she would eventually climb in. Well done Delilah! When I was smaller tall person was able to lift me into the tub but now I’m far too big and heavy so he helps me by lifting by back legs. I like water a lot and will happily lie out in the rain so taking a bath is no problem. The real problem is my thick double coat. It takes a lot of scrubbing and massaging to reach my skin!

    • I imagine trying to get the soap to your skin and drying your fur takes a while Bassa. But it’s nice that you don’t mind. I can’t imagine how it would go if the tall person had to fight you to get you in the tub. 🙂

  13. […] Monday Mischief – Author’s Note […]

  14. Delilah is so cheeky. Loved the video…:-)…You can use her passion for food to desensitize her into hopping into the shower for a bath. You have already started the process by letting her hop in & out. Best of luck!

Leave a comment