Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Be The Change

I’ve been thinking about this Be The Change For Animals post for a while.  I thought I had it all planned out in my head but now that I am sitting down to write it, it’s like I have writer’s block.  My own fault for waiting until today to try to come up with a good post.  So I’m going to switch topics and pray that the next Be The Change, I will be better prepared.

If you’ve been reading this blog in the past week you know we had some issues at an investment property we own.  You can read the whole story here.

While I was researching the charges brought against the intruder, I found that the cruelty to animals charge is classified as a Misdemeanor U.  The charge totally confused me, so I did a little research.

A Misdemeanor U is an unclassified crime that still has penalties.  In the state of CT a cruelty to animals charge is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $50.00 fine.

Big. Deal.

I don’t know about you, but I find this totally unacceptable.

For my Be The Change For Animals post tonight, I am calling for harsher penalties for animal cruelty.  I intend on contacting my State Representative and ask him what I need to do to get this important issue before the legislature.

I encourage you to do the same.  Take a moment to find out what the penalty for animal cruelty is in your state and if you don’t think it’s strong enough, then find out what you need to do to change it.

Together we can be the change.

Comments on: "Be The Change" (17)

  1. I am curious what you had in mind? I am not sure the jails could accomodate more prisioners as they are letting out violent felons around here due to overcrowding. I don’t know what the answer is.

    • I had education in mind. Educating people about how much work goes into having a well-behaved dog, where pet stores get their puppies from and why they should spay and neuter and tying that all into why there are so many dogs in shelters. But I just couldn’t make it work.

      I agree with you, I don’t really know what the answer is either. But certainly stiffer fines. Really $50? That’s not much at all and won’t deter someone from doing it again.

      • Education is a great idea. As for the fine, what to do if the person can’t pay it? It is a challenging problem. Good thought provoking post Jodi!

      • If they can’t pay they work it off at a local shelter or dog pound. 🙂 Or better yet, have to go to a school and help educate children!! LOL

  2. wantmorepuppies said:

    $50? That’s ridiculous. Definitely not a deterrent.

  3. I think you’re right–stiffer fines and mandatory education. Good for you for being the change!

  4. This bears some serious thought! My knee jerk reaction was of course: lock the bast>#@S up and throw away the key. But 2BD brings up a good point. So what DO we do? It seems that the whole thing is SO much more complicated than it appears on the surface. I may do a blog post on this topic as well. Perhaps if we can at least get people seriously thinking about the subject, some workable options may surface.

    Thanks for the topic Jodi!

  5. Hey it’s Jet here. In our area, I believe it’s a 3rd degree felony, usually assigned fines and such. Believe it or not, lobsters and stone crabs have more clout than our land friends. (Business you know…) I would have to investigate more deeply for specifics, however, ex-husband was assigned this division many, many moons ago…

  6. The conversation has to start somewhere. Thank you for raising it. You don’t have to have all the answers – that’s why it needs to be a conversation and not an ultimatum.

    But we can’t just sit around saying the problem is too big, too difficult to even try to solve.

    Don’t get derailed by people who ask questions. Ask more questions in return. Ask for help, ideas, input. Real change does not come quickly or easily but the changes you are suggesting are well worth the effort.

  7. $50 is actually a lot more than most of the animal cruelty-related fines in my province. I’ve seen things close to $5 and $10. It seems ridiculous, doesn’t it?
    I much prefer more creative sentencing as well. Things like prohibiting pet ownership for a lifetime or a period of years, I think, fit the crime much better. Or perhaps mandatory volunteering at an animal shelter so they can see first hand the effects of neglect and abuse.

    I am so glad you participated!

  8. Good for you Jodi!

  9. I’d like to see a national registry of animal abusers like they have for sex abusers. Make the animal abusers pay all the expenses of maintaining it.

  10. julesmelfi said:

    I would be curious to know how many offenders in your state actually got the full 30 days in jail, wouldn’t you? $50? I’m sure it’s a larger fine to j-walk!

    We can at least start with education and harsher penalties (prohibiting future pet ownership is a good start!). Nice post – together we can be the change 🙂

  11. I have to echo BringingUpBella’s comments – this is such an important subject, one that needs to be raised and discussed repeatedly. $50 is a ridiculous fee, and although imprisonment might not work as the best punishment/deterrent, a high fine along with mandatory time served on behalf of animal welfare might work well for the community at large, with education, education, education as the best approach to prevention.

    Wonderful cause (and never think what you’re writing about isn’t good enough – you are speaking on behalf of the voiceless)! Wishing you success in pursuing positive changes to your local law enforcement –

    Thank you for blogging the change,
    Kim Thomas
    BtC4Animals.com
    CindyLusMuse.blogspot.com

  12. I think it’s sad that people have to be educated not to be cruel to animals – I hope for a day when things will change – 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  13. […] Be The Change – Author’s Note […]

Leave a comment