Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Follow-Up Friday

For those new to the blog, my follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby! :-)

Dogs Think Like – Author’s Note/Update

If you thought that post was funny, I’m glad.  I was trying to inject some humor into my situation with my dog. 🙂

I was dead serious about the green bean though.  She is that focused.

She is responding very well to the one strike you’re out rule.  I give her the opportunity to sit at the edge of the kitchen as I begin food preparation.  If she raises her butt off the floor, she goes into the crate.  I put her food down and only when she is being calm will I release her from the crate.  I’m even getting her to the point where I can open the door and she must wait until I give her the release.

She has actually sat two times for the entire food preparation and I think that is PROGRESS!!

I must share that she does not sit quietly in the crate, she does whine a bit, but I am ok with that.

For all your suggestions and tips, I thank you!!

Bold And Beautiful – Author’s Note

I should have noted I tried to set her up once by putting a number of soda cans with pennies in them on a cookie sheet and putting a treat behind the sheet.  Somehow she managed to get the treat and only knock one can over so that back-fired on me.

Kari from Hound Girl had a suggestion that I really liked.  You know the plastic mats you get for your rolling chairs?  The ones that let you roll on carpet?  You get those and set them upside down on the counter, which will hurt their little paws without shocking them.

Me likey.  Thank you Kari!

W.T.F. Wednesday – Author’s Note

Well judging by the comments, W.T.F. Wednesday was a big hit.  I’m glad you all enjoyed it.  I will certainly be on the lookout for the animal stories that make me say, WTF?

Thank you so much for all the pawsome comments!  And if any of you find something that makes you think, “W.T.F” then please feel free to use it if you’d like.

Can I Bring My Dog – Update

I was happy that you all agreed with my decision.  It helped me feel better about making it, knowing that you all thought I was being reasonable.

My cousin and her boyfriend are perfectly fine with my decision.  She did send me a picture of Riley letting me know he wasn’t as big as I imagined.  🙂 In the picture he is laying on his side in the sun, just like my Sam Man likes to do.   He looks like a really nice guy, but I still stand by my decision.

For some reason my computer and phone aren’t communicating so I can’t post his picture. 😦

That’s it for us, hope you have a pawsome week!  Enjoy the weekend.

 

Comments on: "Follow-Up Friday" (4)

  1. We have heard the tip about the plastic rolling mats before, but we passed on that one. We were worried about actual injury like a punctured webbing or pad. I am really glad to hear about you making progress with Delilah sitting at the edge of the kitchen and waiting for her food. Good job both of you! Some field trainers use a similar training method with the crazy driven dogs that will not sit and wait at the line or are vocal. If they get up or squeak, it is back to the truck and no retrieve (those dogs feel about retrieves the same as Delilah feels about food :)). Now some it just amps them up more, but for others it is very effective.

  2. Im glad you liked the mat idea, if I had a counter surfer I would use them, Ive seen my uncle use them on his GSP and her paw pads were just fine, it only took a few times of her putting her paws up there and the uncomfy feel she got to not do it anymore 🙂

  3. Did you happen to watch the White House Correspondent’s Dinner on Saturday night? If you missed it, be sure to check out video footage of the President’s dog related jokes/jabs at both Romney and at himself. Pretty funny! And I think you’ll appreciate given the inaugural WTF Wednesday post!

  4. Thanks for the update Jodi. Great idea using plastic mats for the counter – I won’t tell the tall person though 🙂 What’s going on between your computer and phone? Did they have an argument? Tall person’s computer sometimes ignores his smartphone but they usually make up and start talking again 🙂

Leave a comment