Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Follow-Up Friday

For those new to the blog, my follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby! :-)

To Boldly Go Where No Dog Has Gone Before – Update

Apparently M & M always leave their garage door open….when I took the dogs up on Monday evening for their walk, the garage door was open again.

Of course without Delilah being in the garage, I had the chance to whip out my camera and take a picture.

Really ladies, you live in an area where coyotes and fishers live, maybe you want to keep your garage door shut?  It will definitely help keep predators out…..

And wandering chocolate labs.

Which Would Scare You? – Author’s Note

Many of you said the geeky guy would scare you.  Yes, you should be wary of all strangers, although with two dogs I think I’m decently safe, but stranger things have happened.

As Kari from Hound Girl stated, “LOL the nerdy creepy guys are the quiet ones that take people and cut them up and put them in the freezer hahah.”

Yup, you got that right.

It’s Not All About Delilah – Author’s Note

We have a lot of lovely hiking trails in my area.  Sadly we don’t frequent them as much since Delilah joined our pack.  I am going to start nagging gently suggesting to Hubby that we try at least once every couple of weeks to experience some of the other trails.

Sampson really did love them and I don’t think it’s fair that he can’t enjoy the things he loves because a certain someone can’t behave.  I will be content to walk our trails with Delilah on leash.

Or course, this will be after we get our investment house ready for tenants.

W.T.F. Wednesday – Author’s Note

I got the idea for WTF Wednesday from Kari at Hound Girl.  I saw her make a WTF Wednesday post and didn’t realize it was an ongoing feature already being done by Mango and Dexter.

Of course I need to give props where props are due, so Mango and Dexter, hats off to you!  If you are not the originators of WTF Wednesday somebody please let me know just who the f*ck is.

I have no updates on any of the stories highlighted in WTF Wednesday but I did forget another story.

This W.T.F. was from fellow blogger.

Sherri at Woman’s Best Friend posted that she and her GS (Samson) were entering their apartment building as a woman with her children were exiting the elevator.

As they approached each other the older child pointed at Samson and said, “Nasty. Nasty Dog” and the mom just smiled.

W.T.F. lady, I really don’t feel like being the one to educate your stupid ass, but let me remind you that some people PREFER their dogs over people and yes, believe it or not some people actually think….children are nasty.

You should take the opportunity to educate your child the proper way to approach and respect, yes, yes I said RESPECT dogs.

How would you feel if someone pointed at your child and said, “Nasty child?”

Don’t. Try. Me.

This is not part of Follow-up Friday but I wanted to share.

Tomorrow I will be participating in a Labs 4 Rescue Adoption event at the Mellow Mutt.  If you (or someone you know) are looking for a forever friend, there will be 15 labs up for adoption tomorrow.

I have a personal goal to place 15 labs.  Naturally there will be pictures. 🙂

Catch you later!

Comments on: "Follow-Up Friday" (4)

  1. Bluff Country Shepherdess said:

    It looks like I may be rescuing a 2 year old black lab. She’s in a kill shelter and her time is up. I really don’t WANT to bring any more dogs in right now as I’m full but the gal who is advocating for this pup is one strong advocate!

    😉

    Good luck with the adoptions!

  2. Thanks for the update Jodi. Good luck with the Labs 4 Rescue adoption event. I hope it is successful and all are adopted.

  3. I get the nasty dog bit. I also have problems with total strangers coming up to tell me
    1. my dog is limping – this was Rufus who’d had a leg op and wasnt recuperating well (and it was said in an accusing tone, if you know what I mean)

    2. my dog is fat – also Rufus who was actually very thin under his fur thanks to pancreatitis and other gut problems (this from an obese woman with an actually fat dog)

    I have to admit that I’ve responded to people who tell their kiddies not to be afraid of my dog by telling my dog the same thing. I am bad.

    I think I’ve posted about the incidents which makes me now realise that I’ve done WTF posts without realising it! ;p

  4. I think someone should think about writing a children’s book about how to show respect for dogs. 😉

Leave a comment