Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Follow-Up Friday

For those new to the blog, my follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby!

Hot Car = Dead Dog – Author’s Note

Your comments gave me so very many ideas, I just don’t know where to begin.

Julie over at The Daily Dog Blog made an excellent poster, “When is it too hot for your dog.”  This poster has lots of great information on it and Julie has made it easy to print off.  I made about 10 copies that I intend to put in my car, just in case.  I also will be stopping at the Dollar Store in the next few days to pick up some thermometers like Jodi Chick suggested to have on hand should I come across a dog in a car.

I did have a thought about making a video but I’m going to need a bit of help on it.  Can any of you who do video-editing suggest an inexpensive program I could use to edit video?

And rest assured it does not require me locking a dog in a car!

WTF Wednesday – Author’s Note

To answer a couple of questions left in the comments.

1) I am 99% sure Hubby does NOT read this blog.  (There is of course always the tiniest chance he will, but I won’t hold my breath.)

2) Delilah does NOT sleep with an eye mask.  Sampson however will.  Once I put one on him and left the room and a short time later he came out without it.  When he was done sleeping he just took it off.  LOL I love that dog.

The Pupperatzi just won’t leave me alone!

It Won’t Kill Them To Miss A Day – Author’s Note

Some of you agreed with Mr. Reluctant in the comments, don’t worry I don’t hold it against you. 🙂

I will say that knowing my dogs, I know how much their daily walk means to them.  The other night when we walked around the block Mr. Reluctant looked at Sampson and said, “Look how happy he is to be out walking.”

With that being said, there are certain times such as weather or time constraints when a walk just isn’t possible.  In that instance, it is my job as the caregiver to provide them with something stimulating which will help them release their pent-up energy.

This is especially true with Delilah, I’ve found the better exercised she is, the better behaved she is as well.

Despite the heat, we will manage to exercise the dogs, whether it be in physically or mentally.

That’s it for us, so how was your week?

Comments on: "Follow-Up Friday" (11)

  1. Thanks for sharing my post 🙂 I use iMovie on my Mac to edit photos . .I don’t know what else is out there, but I’m sure someone will have some good recommendations for you!

    My hubby is more like you . . there is no way in hell that Cali is NOT getting her walk, he feels way too guilty and she has him wrapped around all 10 of his fingers! I know that they NEED their exercise, but sometimes it just isn’t feasible (Cali overheats so easily!).

    I love the sleep mask, both of my nieces sleep with one . .too cute 🙂 Have a great weekend!!

  2. oops . .I meant “videos” not photos . .

  3. I just use Windows Live Movie Maker to edit my videos. it came with my computer. I am lazy. 🙂 We are finally supposed to get slightly cooler weather…thank goodness. Have a nice weekend.

  4. Great Follow-Up Friday post! Thanks for mentioning Julie’s poster, I missed that post!

    • Thanks Jen, I printed off a bunch of them and one of my readers did too. Today she left one on someone’s windshield that had two dogs in the car!

  5. If you use Mac, iMovie is fairly easy to use and have a lor of great tools (which I don’t use, too lazy to edit videos) or you could use Windows Live Movie Maker if you are a Windows user as @2browndawgs suggested.

  6. My week has been boo Ms Jodi. I am still feeling crook and seeing Dr Dog again today. Bah. Bah! And BAH!! again just for good measure.

    Sorry, you asked 😉

    • Oh pooh, Miss Georgia, I was hoping you were feeling better. Hope Dr. Dog had some good news for you and some meddies to make you feel better.

Leave a comment