Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Six months ago I wrote a post titled 2012 Goals, I thought it might be a good time to review those goals and see how I’m doing.

The Blog.

Subscribers. 

I wrote: The last time I published a post WordPress informed me I have 54 WordPress subscribers and 164 Twitter followers.  My goal for 2012 is to double my WordPress subscribers.

Update: I currently have 105 WordPress subscribers, and 187 twitter subscribers.  I’m quite pleased with this, if my subscriptions continue in the fashion I will reach and surpass my goal before the year is up!

Subscribers = A

Author’s Note: For some reason WordPress keeps changing the way they show their statistics, a week or so ago they began combining my facebook followers as subscribers.

When I checked the blog and it said I had 475 followers I almost fell over.  I quickly checked the front page to see if I’d been pressed.

Being freshly pressed = Epic fail.

Posting.

I wrote:  My plan is to continue to post every, single day.  If I make it, that will be two full years of daily blogging.

Update: So far I’ve been able to post every single day, and I don’t at this time see any reason for this to change.

Posting every day = A.

Product Review.

I wrote:  I would like to be able to do a product review on this blog.  Preferably a product I like, so I can write a glowing review.

Update: I’m holding off at the moment because there are certain things you can and cannot do with the free WordPress account, until I can move the blog to self-hosted, I will proceed with caution.

Product review = C.

Twitter.

Tweeting.

I wrote:  My Twitter goal is to learn to tweet.  Seriously.

Update: Yeah, I’ve tweeted some but it’s just not something that comes naturally.  My niece who is a great tweeter, says you just do it.  I haven’t figured it out on my phone and I just can’t sit there with my twitter feed open all day long.

Twitter = D-.

Twitter Followers.

I wrote:  My other Twitter goal is to get Bob Harper to follow me.   I know, it will be tough but I think I’m up for the challenge.

Update:  This has proven harder than I expected.  You’d think with a twitter name like AuntieJodi you could practically shame someone into following you!   Bob Harper, follow your AuntieJodi, I mean really, what must his followers think?  He doesn’t even follow his own aunt. 🙂

Twitter Goal Bob Harper = Epic Fail.

Writing.

Paid Writing.

I wrote:  I’m not going to say I want to get a full-time writing job, but I would like to get paid to write something.  Anything.  I don’t care if someone pays me to write a freakin’ ad on Craig’s list.  I just want to be able to say I made money by writing.

Update: I haven’t really pursued this one either.  I did enter a writing contest, which technically would have counted.

Yes it would.  But I didn’t even place.

Paid Writing = D-.

My Book.

I wrote:  I’m writing a book.  There I said it!  Now you know.  Taking a page from Donna and the Dogs, I will be posting a line at the end of each blog letting you know how many words I currently have.

My goal is to write a little bit for my book each day.  In three days I have slightly over 1.000 words, I need to pick up the pace on that, because I hope to have the book complete (in rough form of course) by the time this blog is two years old.

Update: My book has stalled, it’s not that I don’t want to write it anymore, I just kind of lost steam.  I’m on vacation this week so I hope to get some writing in.  The last time I checked I think I had somewhere around 27,000 words.  So it’s not a total loss, I’ve written 26,000 more words than I had in January.

My book = C.

Sampson and Delilah.

I wrote:  My goal for Sampson and Delilah never changes.  It is to give them the best life I can and enjoy the time I have with them.

Update: I think Sampson and Delilah are doing great, they are happy, fairly well-adjusted dogs.  They require a lot of work, but they are totally worth it.

Sampson and Delilah = A+.

How about you, have you made progress with  any of your goals, either professionally or personally?

Comments on: "2012 Goals – Check Point" (35)

  1. Nice job 🙂 I should try setting some goals . .it makes it much easier to reach them!!

  2. Well done Jodi! You’ve done a great job in six months.

  3. Your list is something to be proud of. It’s great that you are keeping us informed of your progress. I wish you the best on those goals that you really want to reach. I enjoy reading your blog.

  4. Great job on your list and I think you deserve an A++ for Sampson and Delilah! I truly enjoy reading your blog 🙂

    I really hate that wordpress started doing that with my fb friends because technically they are not followers. I had disconnected from fb a while back for that reason and just recently connected again in hopes of getting more followers but I may disconnect again, I just don’t like it listed like that.

    • Aw, thanks Misty! What I dislike about facebook is how frequently they change things. WordPress will start to make me feel the same way.

  5. Great idea to have a goal list like that. You seem to be doing remarkably well. Keep up the good work.

  6. I always like how you take an accounting of your week and now your more major goals. Every fall, as part of my religious focus, I take an accounting of my year and try to right any wrongs and clear any slates. This gives me the ability to start fresh. My goals I thought were simple in the blog world but with my work schedule have actually become difficult: write a Postaday. Now I am past the 1/2 way mark of the year and still making it happen.

  7. You are doing amazing with all of your goals. The fact that you can find and update the list is very impressive! Keep at it. I believe you will reach all of them. Well, maybe almost all, the Bob one may take more time. : )

  8. That’s awesome that you are nearly there with your double your subscriber goal Jodi – plus it looks like you are plugging away at your twitter followers too. Nice job. (I gave up the twitter thing because I couldn’t figure it out. LOL!)

    I didn’t realize you weren’t supposed to do product reviews on word press. Thanks for the 411. Does that include book reviews and that sort of thing too? I had no idea…I just switched TO word press….great big ooopps. I will have to look into that further. 😦

    27,000 words on your book is awesome. Mines 81,000 and it took me a year and a half to finish the first draft….

    You can’t win every writing contest, so don’t beat yourself up over that. The trick is in the numbers….the more you enter…the more chance you have at winning. Keep writing. Keep submitting. And one day you’ll get that call. Or email. Or letter. 🙂

    Blogging every day. So IMPRESSIVE!! A great big CONGRATS to you! I couldn’t do it, that’s for sure….

    As always, great job with Sampson and Delilah and for keeping them your number one goal! 🙂

    • Donna, that’s what I’ve heard about the free wordpress account. I don’t know if yours in the free account or not.

      The twitter thing is hard, I just can’t figure it out myself.

      I didn’t realize you’d been writing your book for a year and a half! I’m glad that it is finished and you are getting nibbles on it already! After reading your AKC story, I realized I had better work on my writing skills before I enter any more contests

      Thanks for the comment!

      • I have written plenty of reviews on WordPress. Don’t let it stop you. Just make sure you disclose what you got for free or that you bought it yourself. I just tend not to write as many now because I hate feeling obligated to write something nice if I don’t like the product.

  9. You are doing a fantastic job and you are so organized about it! 🙂

  10. You should be VERY proud of yourself and I so appreciate your candor. And you reminded me of how important it is to share and put pen to paper when it comes to goals.

  11. Great list of goals Jodi! I applaud you for being able to post 7 days a week. I have problems doing it 4-5 days a week!
    I am excited to learn that you are writing a book, now I can hound you about that on Twitter:)!

  12. Thanks for the update. I would say you did pretty well and there is still half a year left. 😉 I was wondering the other day how your book was coming. Hope you get to it this week. 🙂

  13. Congratulations on making such good progress. You should feel very proud.

    I was wondering about the book when I didn’t see the word updates. But I wasn’t sure if it was a sore subject. Writing is tough. I hope you get some good time in on it while on vacation.

    And now I know who Bob Harper is. 🙂 Does your husband know?

    • Thanks Pamela, I sort of stopped posting it since I wasn’t making any progress. 😦 My Hubby doesn’t care who I tweet, write or have dinner with. He is very secure! LOL

  14. I need to set some goals. Funny that you made a goal to blog every day and stuck to it. I made the opposite decision and decided to take weekends off unless I was overcome with the overwhelming need to blog. So far? Not so much.

    I hope you do pick up the book idea again. I also want to write a book, but I am not sure about what yet. Maybe a dog mystery? Ya never know.

    As far as Twitter, I would love to tweet with you. It’s not as scary as it sounds. I just end up on FB more. I miss my Twitter friends, so maybe I need to go back. (Follow me – @melzpetpals).

    Who is Bob Harper?

  15. Oh! Oprah’s Bob! I wonder if you just tweet him every day if he would just follow. It would be good practice. 🙂

  16. […] 2012 Goals – Check Point – Author’s Note […]

  17. […] 2012 Goals – Check Point – Author’s Note […]

  18. Lauren @ Life With Desmond said:

    Good for you for checking in on yourself! I bet if I looked at my goals post from January, I’d have to give it all one big “oopsy!” and just move on. 🙂

    By the way, I once gave your name to someone I did a giveaway with who was looking for more bloggers to work with. I’m not sure if they ever contacted you…

    • Ut oh, I don’t know if I’ve heard from anyone….besides Mr. Chewy which I’m way behind with!! Thanks for thinking of me Lauren, I appreciate the business. 🙂

  19. well written. thanks for informative article.

Leave a comment