Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

My name is Jodi; I am a Dog-a-holic.  If you have been wondering what the symptoms of a Dog-a-holic are, wonder no more.  I have written down the ABC’s for Dog-a-holics everywhere!

Admit (if only to yourself) that your dog has a permanent lock on your heart.

Believe that your dog is the cutest, smartest dog you have ever seen.

Choose your dog over most people.

Devote your time to finding activities based upon what your dog will enjoy.

Envy dog people who don’t work and have all the time they want with their dogs.

Find excuses to avoid doing things that don’t include your dog.

Gaze lovingly at your dog every chance you get.

Hesitate to accept a social invitation because it might interfere with time for your dog.

Indulge your dog with special treats.

Jabber incessantly to anyone who will listen about how cute and smart your dog is.

Kiss your dog before you kiss your spouse/significant other.

Laugh at simple tricks performed by your dog; even though every other dog in the world knows how to roll over.

Measure all other dogs looks and personality against your own; (naturally you will find the other dog to be inferior to yours.)

Never miss an opportunity to pose for a picture with your dog.

Organize your activities around your dog.

Plan a birthday party for your dog.

Question invitations by responding “Can I bring my dog?”

Recognize that you are powerless over the hold your dog has on you.

Sacrifice your social life in favor of your dog.

Tattoo your body with the name and/or picture of your pooch.

Unwind in the evening with your dog snuggled up against you.

Vacation only in areas where your dog is welcome.

Wistfully stare into space and think about your dog.

Xerox photos of your pet and make them into a notepad, so your pet is constantly with you.

Yip when you pinch your finger, instead of cussing.

Zealously defend your dog no matter what the circumstance.

 


If you found yourself nodding and smiling while reading the ABC’s of a Dog-a-holic and saying to yourself…”I do that.”

Then you might be a Dog-a-holic.

Welcome!

Comments on: "The ABC’s of a Dog-a-holic….Day One Hundred, Sixty One" (8)

  1. Michelle Martins said:

    I love this! & yes, I’m a Dog-a-holic!

  2. please tell me you don’t have the tattoo of your dogs… they’re cuties, but i’m sure they wouldn’t want you to go under the needle for them!
    Also, yes… “hello, my name is Lexy, and I’m a dog-aholic

    • LOL, thanks Michelle, and Lexy, no I do not have a tattoo of either one of my dogs but….my husband wants to get a profile of the dogs. 🙂 I won’t tattoo ANYTHING on my body, I am a wimp. 🙂

      Welcome to the club ladies.

  3. impala6 said:

    Yeah, this applies to guys, too. I’m a dog-a-holic.

  4. Also, I’m giving you the Versatile Blogger Award… check it out here: http://goneforawalk.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/champion-at-versatility/

  5. I just smile when I read it. I am totally agree with you.

Leave a comment