Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Tomorrow IS Another Day

You’ve all been so supportive and kind to me over the last couple of days, leaving comments and suggestions.  I wanted to answer each and every one of you personally and I hope I have.

There was lots of great advice and suggestions in every single comment and I want to dedicate an entire blog post to just exactly how I plan to get Delilah and myself back on track, it just won’t be today.

My little grandchildren needed me, so this will be a very short post.

I returned the remote control collar to my friend without trying it on Delilah.  When and if I decide to use an e-collar, I will have a trainer come out to make sure I use it correctly.  I do not wish to set her back or throw off her training by using it incorrectly.

I have ordered “Lassie Come Home” by the wonderful Dr. Patricia McConnell and until that arrives and I have watched it, Delilah is on leash on our walks.

Her lovely 30 foot leash was cut short and even though I have another 30 foot leash, I went out and bought a 15 footer.  She is now much closer to me and easier to control.  It is a pain in the butt when walking with others, and so we may have to change-up our walking habits and walk alone for a bit. I am okay with this.

Much closer and easier to control.

It seems kind of mean to say, but as luck would have it, my walking buddy won’t be available much in the next couple of weeks which will give me some good time to work with Delilah.

The truth is, I had a bad day and I succumbed to frustration and despair.

It happens.  That’s how I roll.  I give in to it and let myself live it and breathe it and then I slap myself and say, “That’s enough, this is getting you nowhere.”  I pick myself up, dust myself off and figure out a way around the obstacle.

Right now off-leash for Delilah is an obstacle, so until I figure out a way to overcome it, she will be on leash.  End of story.  And I’m completely okay with it.

I want to end with thanking you all again for the warmth and love you gave so unconditionally, it really was like a virtual hug every time I read one your comments.

XOXO

Comments on: "Tomorrow IS Another Day" (22)

  1. There are some breeds (Huskies) and some dogs that can never be trusted off a leash, no matter what. Delilah may be one of those. I have two friends who have delightful dogs that were rescues and they have found in spite of loving training and one even hired a professional animal behaviorist to work with her dog, they will forever be walked on a leash.

    • If that is how it must be, then it will. It’s odd because she will go along being 100% accurate and then boom, just like that she’s gone.

  2. I don’t know why your so down on yourself! It seems to me you are handling Delilah’s setback in a very positive way. She still gets to go for walks. Just with more restraint, which she obviously still needs. I think ordering the PMcC video was a VERY smart move and bet it will be a great help. You’re keeping your dog’s safety your priority. Sounds like a pretty smart trainer to me!

    • Thank you Nancy, I have a tendency to come down hard on myself, it is my type A personality. 🙂 We will work on it. And yes, Delilah needs to learn impulse control. 🙂

  3. One day at a time Jodi.
    In the meantime, enjoy your grandchildren.

  4. I’m glad that processing your feelings and thoughts on the blog has helped you find a way forward. I suspect the McConnell DVD will continue to give you whole new ways to think about Delilah and working with her.

    I thought I’d recommend one more book I got from our library: http://www.amazon.com/Bonding-Your-Dog-Trainers-Relationship/dp/0470409150. The author, Victoria Schade, gave some great ideas for making sure your dog is looking out for you, even at a stimulating environment like a dog park.

    Some of the ideas I’ve used from the book include hiding from Honey (before she gets too far away) and walking in the opposite direction so she has to come looking for me.

    I don’t, however, recommend Schade’s suggestion of chasing squirrels together. That was a disaster for me. 🙂

    Good luck. And I hope you’re enjoying the day with your grandkids.

    • Thank you Pamela, I have place Victoria’s book on my kindle wish list. 🙂 I hope you took a video of the squirrel chasing, I think that would be priceless. 🙂

      I think blogville is an awesome support system, it gives almost immediate feedback, sympathy, empathy and advice. My blogville family is the best. Thank you for being part of it.

  5. It was lovely to read your positive post Jodi. Love from Bassa x

  6. I am glad you have a plan. I think we all have those days/weeks/months when we get frustrated. I know when we were teaching Thunder blind retrieves through water we had many of those days. We wondered whether he would ever get “it”. We were consistent with his training, used a pro to help us, and one day it just clicked. Here’s hoping for the same for Delilah.

    Meanwhile, you want a puppy who chewed a rug? 6 pups to pick from and we picked the deluxe chewer. lol This too shall pass.

    • Thank you, some dogs just take longer than others to reach their true potential. I’m just not sure if I can EVER have anything in my treat bag (besides a half a cow) that will keep Delilah’s interest better than the worms, bird seed, deer poop in someone else’s yard.

      Yes, I would trade you one rug chewer for one bolter. And I will meet you half way to make the transfer. LOL My rug is already trashed. 🙂

  7. I’m so happy to see you sounding so happy! Have a nice time with your grandchildren, and post when you can. 🙂

  8. So glad to hear you’re out of your funk 🙂 It was worrying to hear you so down about everything – so very not typical Jodi!
    I’m interested to hear about this video and how things work out with training Delilah to return.

    • Thanks Lexy, it is general not my nature, but we all have bad days, yes?

      You can rest assured I will be writing about that dvd and how it helps.

  9. Glad you are back on an even keel, Jodi. You know, I think sometimes dogs are like kids in a way. That is, they want us to set boundaries for them. It’s scary for them to have free reign and they’re more secure when we are more in control. That may be what’s going on with Delilah on these walks. Just happy to see you you are working it out.

    • Thank you Big Al! I agree with that process and the long leash helped for the longest (lol) time for settling her down and keeping her close. Then boom! One day it was a free for all again. I will find something that works, rest assured.

  10. That sounds like a great plan you’ve got Jodi. I certainly can relate to that frustration and have my share of bad days with my furry people, but (usually) they’re worth it. Your dedication and persistence in troubleshooting and trying new things are an inspiration!

    • Kirsten, you are too kind, considering all that YOU do! I only wish I were near so many of you because I know you would all ‘get it.’ Thanks for the continued support and encouragement.

  11. HI, Been following your blog for a couple of weeks. I really believe that you could just change the names of our dogs and we would have the same story. Molly (20 month old foster lab) is a breeder surrender and has been with us 4 months—my hubby calls her “freaky” dog!! She is on a long lead like your Delilah for walks, and yesterday I let her go….and away she went, running like a deer. Fortunately, we live in the country on 80 acres so getting caught in the neighbors air conditioner wasn’t a problem. I just watched in amazement, wondering what in the world could I possibly do to get this dog to understand. Like you, I am at my wits end, but I don’t want to give up on her, stupid humans caused this problem and I’m not going to quit. After a good long romp, she finally did a recall and spent the rest of the evening snoozing in front of the woodstove )like nothing happened!! I took a good long deep breath, so frustrated, but told myself I would try again tomorrow. Fast forward to today….I remembered we had a doggie back pack, filled a couple water bottles and placed them in her pack and away we went…I have never had such a CALM walk…she seemed very focused and was exhausted at the end of the walk. She had a job!! She needed a JOB!! I can’t wait til tomorrow when she gets to preform her JOB again. Good grief, why didn’t I think of that backpack before!! I will continue to follow your progress for tips and ideas for my “wild” child.
    All my best, val

    • Hi Val and thank you for the follow and the comment!! What a great thing you did rescuing Molly. As you well know it is a lot of work and one of the reasons I didn’t return Delilah immediately is because I didn’t want to be another human who failed her. Honestly she can be such a sweet and lovely being and most times I really enjoy her antics.

      First I have to say “JEALOUS!” 80 acres? If I had 80 acres I wouldn’t care where she ran! LOL As I tried to explain to my walking friend, if too many people complain about the loose dogs running into their yards, the town will really crack down on us and we could lose the privilige all together. 😦

      It was a great idea you had putting the pack on Molly and I know you didn’t ask for it, but I’m going to share my opinion/experience with you. Originally when Delilah had the long leash she did phenomenal, she stayed close by and returned EVERY time. But after a while, when she got used to it or became comfortable with it, that is when she started running off again. If I could go back and change it, I would probably use the long leash for one or two days, then maybe keep her close on a short leash or play hide-n-seek with her. Just something to change it up so she didn’t become bored. I think she got bored on long leash. 😦

      Thanks again for the follow and the comment! I’m popping over to check out your blog now. 🙂

Leave a comment