Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Follow-Up Friday

For those new to the blog, my follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby! 🙂

Be The Change – Author’s Note

You all had some amazing blog posts yourselves.  It makes it so difficult to focus on one cause as there are so many changes that need to take place.

As for my post, I think we have to start with education and who better to start with than children.  They are so malleable and have such sweet, untarnished souls, they could really be the change.

As for the adults who commit these heinous crimes, larger fines, the possibility of jail time and community service, preferably in a shelter or dog pound.

As usual my awesome readers rose to the occasion leaving some incredible comments.

Kristine suggested “prohibiting pet ownership for a lifetime or a period of years,” as well as community service.

I also loved Jan’s idea, “I’d like to see a national registry of animal abusers like they have for sex abusers. Make the animal abusers pay all the expenses of maintaining it.”

Cue the music.

Ahhh ahhhh ahhhh…..can you hear the angels singing to that?  I know I can. 🙂

The Dogs Got Out….I’m So Done – Update

Dog lovers are a passionate bunch of people.  This was very evident in the comments.

I just want to say that as voices for the voiceless we need to be ambassadors for positive training.   In that respect we need to sometimes temper our passion with kindness and remember that not everyone is aware of the resources available to them.  And when someone reaches out to us, kindness will go so much further than anger and harsh words.

My friend ended up re-homing the newest dog to her neighbor.  Her words were, “I”ve never seen her so happy and relaxed.”  Furthermore her other dog has settled down and there has been no more fence jumping.  Everyone is much happier.

Contact Me – Author’s Note

Most of you wrote in to say you had some way for readers to contact you.  There were some blogs where I couldn’t find contact information, but I could follow them on Twitter, so I tweeted to them.

But there are still some blogs I’m having trouble commenting on.  I would ask you for a favor.  As you are perusing your favorite blogs this week, look about their site and see if they have contact information.  If they do not, would you mind leaving a comment and asking them to check their spam?

What Keeps You Awake At Night – Author’s Note

I want you to know I didn’t mean for the post to sound like I was whining.  I can’t sleep, it’s a fact of my life.

I didn’t mean to sound like I was complaining about Sampson and his need for rubbies.   It does NOT bother me that Sampson is in the bed and sleeping on me, in fact it brings me great joy.  I am truly surprised when I wake up and find myself twisted like a pretzel with Sampson hogging the bed and I actually smile.

There are some nights when it is too warm and he gets off the bed and lies on the floor.  I don’t sleep any better for it.  In fact, sometimes I try to coax Delilah to take his spot.

When I was away in Florida last week I didn’t sleep any better without the dogs.

Being the worrier that I am, I much prefer them in the room with me, if there are any issues I know about it immediately…..unless I pop a Xanax, then they’re on their own. 🙂

Thanks for reading, enjoy your weekend!

Comments on: "Follow-Up Friday" (7)

  1. I am glad things worked out for your friend’s dog. 🙂

    • She is too! LOL. Sometimes it just doesn’t work out and there is nothing wrong in admitting that you made a mistake. Thanks for caring!

  2. I second 2browndawgs, glad it worked out. I also will have you know I double checked contact methods for my blogs. I just linked through my contact page for my actual website. I had the same problem though on a new blog I found. Darn blogspot seems to give me a lot of trouble.

  3. I didn’t take your post as being whiney at all. Sometimes all does not go smoothly in life.

  4. Thanks for the update Jodi. I completely agree with your words “ambassadors for positive training”.

Leave a comment