Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

A few months back I had an eye exam scheduled.  About two hours before the exam, my Dr. called me on my cell phone to tell me the office was without power and they would be contacting me to reschedule the appointment.  She mentioned that she was calling from HER cell phone because the office phones were down.

As soon as we hung up I saved her number.

At the rescheduled appointment I told her I saved her number and don’t be surprised if she gets a call from me.  We both laughed, but I was dead sirius.

If you call or text my cell phone, I’m saving your number.  Do you hear that Mr. Obama?  You better make sure to dial the right number, because you don’t want me having yours.

A few years back I got a text about a bond.  I played along, asking questions.  Finally the guy wised up and called me, he said he had the wrong number, and could I just delete the text.  Naturally I asked him what he did, and I found out he’s a bail bondsman.

Hmmmm… good number to have just in case Mr. Obama does call my phone number by accident.  I stored the bail bondsman’s number in my phone, it simply says, Bondsman.

You never know when you might need to post bond…

I like having people’s numbers in my phone.  For instance, I have my State Senator’s cell number in my phone and call him when I need his thoughts or his ear. 🙂

Oh yes, I am that woman.

While I was on the phone with the vet’s office Friday night I joked with the receptionist that my vet better hope I never get her cell phone number.  If I did, I imagine I would probably text her quite a bit.

It might go something like this:

Monday

Me: Hi Dr. Soutter this is Jodi Stone, I have a question for you about Sampson.

Dr. Soutter: How did you get this number?

Me: Um… I think I saw it accidentally the last time I was in your office.  Anyway, Sampson threw up his breakfast this morning and I was wondering if you thought it was something I should be worried about?

Dr. S: Jodi, I know you worry, but unless Sampson is vomiting every meal, I think you should just keep an eye on him.  And please, forget you got this number and call the office next time.

Me: Thanks Dr. Soutter, have a great day!!

Tuesday

Me: Hi Dr. Soutter, on our walk today the dogs, particularly Delilah kept getting chomped at by deer flies.  I was wondering if you knew of anything I could give them that would repel the deer flies.  Oh and gnats too!

Dr. S: Is this Jodi?

Me: Yes, yes it is!

Dr. S: If you have a question please phone the office.  The receptionist should be able to help you with insect repellent questions.  I would really prefer to keep our relationship professional.

Me: Ok Dr. Soutter, have a great day! 

Wednesday

Me: Hey Dr. S, you know Sampson and Delilah are on the garlic tablets right?  Well I forgot to give them a dose, do you think they’ll be ok?  I hate to give them too much because it does make them gassy and oooh, boy you don’t want to be around for that one! LOL

Dr. S: I think they’ll be fine.  Again, please call the office with your questions.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I have surgery to perform. 

Me: Thanks Dr. S, have a great day!

Thursday

Me: Hey Alexis, how’s it going?  I forgot to mention yesterday that Delilah is gulping her water.  What are your thoughts on this?

Dr. S: Jodi, call the office with your questions. 

Me: OMG, you stored my cell phone info!!  I’m so excited.  Are you free today for lunch?

Dr. S: I’m trying to be nice and professional but you are pushing my buttons.  What you are doing is bordering on harassment!  And please, we are not friends, call me Dr. Soutter and NO I AM NOT FREE FOR LUNCH!

Me: Thanks Alexis!  Have a great day!!

Friday

Me: Hey A, you won’t believe this, but I found two white hairs on Delilah’s back, do Chocolate Lab’s usually get white on their back?

Me: Alexis?  Alexis?  Are you mad at me?

Response:  I’m sorry, you have the wrong number, there is no Alexis here.  I just got this number today….

YEP, if she’s smart, she probably shouldn’t give me her number. 🙂

Comments on: "Why My Vet Shouldn’t Give Me Her Cell Phone Number" (40)

  1. Oh my gosh I can hardly type I am laughing so hard, by far one of your funniest posts, LOVE IT!!!

  2. hahahahahahha! 🙂 Great post! 🙂

  3. hee hee hee, too funny 🙂

  4. I see Freshly Pressed all over this one! What a hoot!!

  5. So hilarious! We have a human that would do the exact same thing!
    Bella and DiDi

  6. Anonymous said:

    I had a dog that was sick one time. It was sleeting and snowing out I knew I could get to vet next am. My dad actually looked up the vets home number and said call. I did and told him I was sorry to bother him on Sunday night at home but dad told me to call. He ask what was wrong I told him. He said since it was snowing and he did not know if he could get in to the office on Mon. To go to pet emergency for fluids. He also said he was okay with me calling him. Whew

    • Now that’s a good vet!! I had a pediatrician one time like that, I called the office late at night and it rang through at his home. It was midnight and I woke him up, but he was fine with it. I’m glad it all worked out for you!

  7. Funny post, Jodi! You crack me up:-)

  8. LMAO! This is hilarious Jodi! I have all 3 of my vets home phone numbers and cell numbers! I don’t use them too often, but believe me I have called at least each one of them once at home before! Oh and if it’s my day off and I have a concern about one of the dogs I will call work and if they are in an exam room I will make someone get them out and then they yell at me because -of course it is totally not an emergency!

    • Thanks Jen, but I would expect you to have all of your vets numbers, I have my boss’ number and trust me, if I had an engineering emergency I wouldn’t hesitate to use it. LOL

      Don’t laugh, I was actually considering trying to get YOUR number just in case. I don’t like either of the emergency vet hospitals, I figured I could tweet you and then shoot you an e-mail and before long, I’d be reeling you in. 🙂

      • LOL! I’d give it you!!!
        Hey-you won the Follow the Dog Home Book Giveaway I was having! I don’t have your email, so shot me one when you get a chance with your address and I have them send you one out!
        you can email me at Coz086@aol.com or mybrownnewfies@aol.com! Congratulations!

  9. ROTFLMAO! That is totally how I would be too.

    “Hey Jen – So Kol just kind of coughed and choked at the same time. Then he snorted like he had something in his nose and I’m just wondering if we should bring him in to have his throat scoped or maybe if you think it was just a tickle and a drink of water will do it? TTFN!”

    That’s awesome. I almost wish I could do it.

    • Oh Jodi, we are so much alike. 🙂 But I would do it, maybe not to that excess but I would be contacting her, working the friendship angle. Hell yes! I am that woman! LOL I almost added the one where you took Kol to the vet because he was panting but then I couldn’t figure out how to give you credit in the middle of the text conversation. LMAO

  10. LOL bears no resemblance to what would really happen. Right? RIGHT?

  11. I’m trying to write a reply but I am giggling so much my fingers are shaking. This took a fair bit longer than a normal sentence should.

  12. Thanks for the great post. I’m afraid I would be the same way if I had direct access to my veterinarian. So I’m glad you showed me why it wouldn’t be wise.

  13. Ohh boy, this was a great post to read before going to bed, I had a good laugh. Thanks!

  14. The next time someone asks me why I don’t have a cell phone I’m going to send them to this post. 🙂

    • It’s not that bad having a cell phone Pamela….as long as no-one is desperate to reach you! LOL Sometimes I would like to chuck mine in the river.

  15. Hilarious! Great post Jodi

  16. Hysterical. So what do you do in lieu of the daily calls to your vet’s cell that you dream of making? I come to every one of Mazzie’s appointments with a LONG list of questions and concerns and even e-mail/call her vet between appointments if there is something that I really can’t get out of my mind. When I apologized to her vet for being so crazy and mentioned that dealing with people like me must be one of the more stressful aspects of his practice, he told me that my particular brand of crazy (nice, smart and coming from the right place) bothered him way less than the other brands of crazy and neglect he sees on a daily basis. Now I’m really never going to stop with the questions!!!!

    • LOL I did a post about that list of questions I ask her. We go twice a year once in October (Sampson) and in June (Delilah.) If anything pops up in the interim I either research or call. The office staff is really great and they know when to interrupt the dr and when to take a message. Thankfully I don’t call that often. LOL

  17. Jodi – I’m doing some back reading on posts I missed, and I am SO GLAD I went back for this one. It was hysterical. I can picture the entire thing…Nice job!

  18. […] Why My Vet Shouldn’t Give Me Her Cell Phone Number – Author’s Note […]

  19. […] not sure that I should ever be given my vet’s cell phone number. I laughed out loud reading this fantastic post from Life with Sampson & Delilah. I would be exactly like this. It’s time for Something Swagging! Want to win some BlogPaws […]

Leave a comment