Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

My grandson has a book named “Pooh Sticks,”  (or something along those lines) in the story Winnie the Pooh and his friends play a game with sticks by dropping them into the brook to see which stick gets to the finish line first.

Since this blog is

1) About my dogs and

2) Poo is spelled differently than Pooh, you would be correct in assuming this blog is not about my dog(s) dropping sticks in the brook.

WARNING: THIS BLOG IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART OR FOR THOSE OF YOU WITH A QUEASY STOMACH. 

I have a dog that eats poop.  

Notice the words are “whispered”.   That is because I am embarrassed, mortified and disgusted; similar to the time I had to go to the computer store and say that my computer had a virus.  (Like I actually let my computer sneak off and do something nasty.)  

The fact of the matter is that lots of dogs eat poop, whether it be their own or (GAG) some other dogs.  Yes, I know this for a fact because I have been researching solutions for this problem which is why I am sitting here with a queasy stomach writing this blog.  There is actually a name for this disgusting habit; Dog Coprophagia (go ahead, Google it, I can wait.)

Now I won’t say which dog is partaking in this really disgusting habit (Delilah) but I will tell you this is becoming a problem for me and how I interact with my dog.

1) I don’t want her to “kiss” me.

2) She licks everything, from the floor to the counter, so I now must become a cleaning fanatic (I don’t like this.)

3) Her breath smells and when she burps or farts; (just use your imagination on this one.)

From what I’ve read, opinions are mixed about why dogs do this and what can be done to prevent it.  I read that feeding them pineapple will stop the habit.  So every morning the dogs get a spoonful of pineapple mixed in with yogurt in their breakfast.  So far that hasn’t stopped her.

Delicious pineapple and yogurt to go with the green bean filler.

 

I did find a natural product, Solid Gold S.E.P. , the S.E.P. stands for “Stop Eating Poop,” naturally I ordered 2 containers, (God, I’m desperate) but besides that the only solutions I found were:

1) Teach your dog to defecate on command (seriously, WTF? I can’t get my dog to come when I call her and you want me to teach her to poop on command?)

2) Clean up after your pet immediately so there is no opportunity for munching (really, I don’t want to clean the counter continuously, why would I want to follow the frigging dog around the yard?)

3) Always take the dog out on the leash (I have a fenced in yard specifically so I don’t have to do this) and yank the leash when she makes a move for the poop.

4) Put hot sauce or something equally distasteful on the poop piles so she won’t eat them (really if I’m out in the yard looking for poop piles, I might just as well pick them up.)

I guess my only option is to go out in the yard to see what I can pick up, and I will sit here holding my breath; waiting for my Solid Gold S.E.P. to arrive.

God help me.

Who would think someone with this sweet face would have such a disgusting habit?

Comments on: "Poo Sticks…Day One Hundred and Forty" (4)

  1. Anonymous said:

    disclaimer about looking up corprophagia, make sure you have safe search on because it’s a gross sexual fetish too :S

  2. Michelle Martins said:

    Alright Jodi… My Foxy is a recovering poop addict. She would eat her poop & any one else’s poop as well. It was disgusting, especially when she would throw up the poop afterwards. I tried EVERYTHING as well – the pineapple, the tablets, the powder to put on the food & the poop, etc. She was so bad that she would follow Hef around & be basically right on his ass to catch his poop!! The only thing that worked was following them both around & immediately picking up the poop. I know how annoying it is, esp when u have a fenced in yard, but I had to do it & it’s the only way I got her to stop. Sometimes she has a relapse & I have to yell @ her to drop it when she finds some other animal’s poop in the yard but she is currently sober 🙂

Leave a comment