Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

I thought it was supposed to be cooler today; it wasn’t.

Chet and I had scouted around looking for places for the dogs to go swimming.  I had found an area that was literally around the corner from the house so I brought Chet there this morning.

A woman and her pup were playing near the water, and we chatted for a few minutes.  She told us it was ok for the dogs to go in the water there.  Her pup would run thru the water, but wasn’t swimming.  A flock of geese approached and the dog was so adorable watching the geese and trying to figure out just what the heck they were. I wish I’d had my camera on me.  Oh when will I learn?

The woman kindly told us to watch where we stepped because the area was almost entirely covered with poop!  I knew that could pose a problem with Delilah.

We have a tendency to eat dinner a little on the late side and since we’d had a late lunch, we postponed dinner and took the dogs out right around 6:30.

It was a perfect time to go since we were the only ones on shore, there was one man in a small boat fishing but he really wasn’t that close to us.

Delilah LOVES playing fetch in the water.

Sampson even got in on the swimming action.

Since Sampson is not into the fetching and swimming, Chet took him down below the falls for a little walk.  Delilah thought she was missing out on something and hurried out of the water to see what they were doing.

Daddy, Sampson and Delilah

After they came back up to the area we were playing in, Delilah got in the water and started swimming away.  She totally ignored us and headed out towards the man in the row-boat!  We were calling and calling and she just kept swimming away from us.  I was standing their flummoxed looking at Chet, when finally she turned around and came back.

That tiny little speck that you can barely see in the middle of the picture is Delilah.

We wrapped it up shortly after this escapade.  We decided we would try a different area the next time basically for two reasons.

1) That poop was goose poop.  Now I was game for picking up dog poop, but there is NO WAY I am picking up goose poop!  The entire time I was bringing Delilah in and out, I was shouting “Leave it, leave it!”  Even so, she still got a few. 😦

2) Look at the picture.

Yeah whatever kind of snake that is, it's too big for my liking!

Let’s hope tomorrow’s swimming area is a bit better!

Comments on: "Duck Duck Goose…Day Two Hundred Thirty Five" (8)

  1. Michelle Martins said:

    Ewwww – that’s a big ass snake!!

  2. great post! thank you for sharing those lovely photos:)

  3. Looks like a nice place to swim except for the goose poop and big snake of course. 🙂 The dogs looked like they had a great time.

    You probably already know this, but remember to keep an eye out for blue-green algae in any pond/lake you may find swim your dog.

  4. Margaret said:

    The snake skin would have done me in, ugh.

Leave a comment