Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

I keep a couple of rugs laid out in the back of the car.  It gives the dogs something to lay on, prevents them from slipping and helps reduce the wear and tear on the car.

I washed the rugs yesterday because I was taking a couple of co-workers to the airport today.  So my car got what I like to refer to as a “Quick douche.”  You may also refer to it as “A Lick and a Promise.”  I basically wiped as much as I could down and got up as much of the dirt as I could with a damp rag.

As luck would have it, the rains came again today, just before I left work.  We waited for a break in the rain to walk the dogs.  I went out to the car to bring the rugs to Chet only to find wet paw prints all over the back of the car.  It seems someone was anxious for a walk.

Even with the rain, I knew those bugs would be all over me.  I decided to try out my bug cap, which was recommended by our friends at 2BrownDawgs and Gone For a Walk.  I’m sure it’s going to make fellow hikers look at me strangely, but if it keeps those bugs away, I”m all for it.

By the end of our walk, the rain had washed away the humidity and left a beautiful blue sky, with some white fluffy clouds.

Some parts of the state are still under thunderstorm watch, but I think we are done.  At least if the sunset is any indicator.

 

 

Comments on: "Rugs, Bugs and Sunsets….Day Two Hundred, Thirty Eight" (10)

  1. Thanks for the shout out and hooray for the bug cap. I know it looks a bit strange, but I wear mine as needed. Mine really got a work out a couple of summers ago when we painted our cabin.

    We have not had any rain here. Everything is so dry. You sure had a beautiful sunset.

    • You are welcome, thank you for the hat idea. I went to Cabela’s and forgot the name of the jacket, so I ended up with a bugoff shirt, which is not what I want. So I will be returning it. Pictures of the jacket to follow. 🙂

      I wish I could bottle the rain and forward where needed. 😦

      Yes, the sunset was beautiful.

  2. I wish it would rain here 😦 I use a moving blanket in the car for the same exact reason. I like the bug cap 🙂

    • I felt strange wearing it and I’m sure once I encounter another hiker it will be awkward but it is a must.

      I’m sorry you have no rain. 😦

  3. The bug hat is great! Wear it to NYC on your next visit and mumble strange things about bees and you will definitely not get mugged! 🙂 and the hat would only be awkward at like a cocktail party or the opera, not on a walk in the park or hiking! lol.

    • That’s a great idea Kathy! Or I could walk around mumbling with it on my head and holding out a cup!! Maybe someone would put money in it. 😉

  4. That’s hilarious! But if it works, why not? The bugs have been so off and on here, just like the weather. With it being so unusually cool we haven’t had to deal with many, thank goodness. But I can definitely appreciate the sentiment! Whatever keeps the buzzing out of your ears.

    Gotta love a sunset on a clear evening. 🙂

  5. LOL I know I look a fright, probably scares some little kids, but hey I have my Halloween costume already!

  6. This is great Jodi. A dog walk is the most cathartic thing we do so whatever it takes!

    Love those pups of yours.

Leave a comment