Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Today is traditionally my Follow-up Friday post;  but since Frankie and Sarge are hosting a Labor Blog party, I reluctantly turn my blog over to Sampson and Delilah to teach a class on Pawm Etiquette.

Sampson:  “Thanks mom, let’s get right down to it.”

” We have a lot to cover in a short amount of time.”

“First this class is called, “Pawm Etiquette”  or as Frankie likes to say, ‘Pawm-eat-a-kit.'”

“But there will be no eating of kits or anything else in this class.” 

“Delilah, can you spit out the milkbone please?”

Delilah: “Really?”  “You mean ME?”

Sampson: “Yes, Delilah I said NO EATING and that includes you!”

Delilah: “Hhhhhhmmmmmmppppppffffff!”

Sampson: “By now we hope you have already asked your date to the pawm;  If you haven’t here are a couple of ideas for your pawmposal.”

“Engrave “Will you go to pawm with me?” on a milk bone and bury it in your love’s yard.  If she has a good nose, she will find it.”

Delilah: “I think it’s more romantic if you howl your pawmposal at the moon.”

Sampson: “That’s sweet D but if your love is not close by this is not a good option.”

“The best idea; meet her at the bark-park and ask her nose to nose (no tongues!  Especially if this is your first date!)”

“Now you have THAT out-of-the-way, there are a bunch of things involved in pawm.”

“One of the most important tasks is how will you get to and from Pawm?”

Transportation-“Pawmsonally I like the idea of a dog drawn carriage, such as the one shown here; if you don’t have enough milk bones to pull this one-off, you may have to resort to being driven by your mom.  Totally embarrassing but you will just have to deal…..unless you want to paw it.”

Photo Courtesy of Skeeter Dog Equipment

Delilah: “Oooh, that’s really romantic Sam, is that how you are taking me to Pawm?”

Sampson: “Delilah, this is a class, we can discuss our specifics after.”

Attire (what to wear)- “Before you purchase your outfit, consult with your date to determine what color she/he will be wearing.  As you can see, Delilah and I are wearing the same color.”

Sorry about the eyes, mom has a craptastic camera.

Delilah: “You look awfully handsome in the tie Sampson.” 😉

Sampson: “Thank you Delilah, can we get back to the lessons now?”

Delilah: “I’m not sure you noticed, so here is a better picture.  Ladies, I have opted out of the traditional Pawm Dress to go a bit more exotic with an exquisite pair of purple wings.  I think they go beautifully with my coloring.”

Sampson: “Ummm Delilah? I think you have the wings on upside down.”

Delilah: “Really?  Maybe I’m just making a fashion statement!”

Sampson: “Try and match as closely as possible the color your date is wearing, this will let others know you are together, plus you’ll look really great for Pawtographs.”

Flowers – “Pawsages -the best flower is pawm pawms, but if you can’t find those you could try dogwood flowers.  Have your flowers arranged so the flowers can be worn on either collar or paw.”

Delilah: “What about a fascinator? I think I would prefer a fascinator.”

“I think this fascinator would look stunning tucked behind my ear, and it would compliment my outfit beautifully.”

Sampson: “Delilah! We are supposed to be teaching a class here!”

Greetings- “When you get to Pawm there will be lots of other dogs there, you must be very careful in your greeting, a 3-second butt sniff is more than enough.  If you go longer then 3 seconds it could be considered cheating.”

Dancing – “The first dance is important, be very careful where you put your paw!  Ideally it should be placed lightly on her back and always make sure it remains in view of the chaperones.  Some of you big guys must be really careful about this, if you have a heavy paw like me, or your nails haven’t been trimmed properly you could hurt or scratch your date.”

Delilah: “Make sure you have groomed yourself BEFORE the Pawm, I don’t want you leaning over me to lick yourself in an inappropriate place! And now that I mention it, “

“No sniffing in inappropriate places.”

“No lifting of leg on band members!”

“And definitely no looking at other pooches!”

Sampson: “Well not quite the way I would have put it Delilah, but you do get the point across.”

Refreshments- “There should be refreshments at the Pawm, be considerate of others and make sure you have no food particles on your mouth that could be dropped in the punch bowl.  Delilah does that to me all the time, leaves her food particles in the water bowl.”

Delilah: “Thanks for rolling me under the bus Sampson, I can’t help it if I’m an enthusiastic eater!”

Sampson: “Shinizzle my whizzle Delilah, you sure do interupt a lot!”

“The last dance is also important, the band will tell you it is last dance and you should make sure to dance the last dance with your date.”

The Good Night- “An appropriate good night token is a little sniff to the ears or a quick touch to the nose, definitely no licking!”

Delilah: “I don’t know, I certainly wouldn’t turn down a little nuzzle to the muzzle, if you know what I mean.” 😉

Sampson: “I think we’ve covered everything.”

“Are there any questions?”

Mom: “Shinizzle my whizzle and a nuzzle to the muzzle? Really?   How do you two come up with these things?”

What was I thinking turning these two loose?

 God help me.

Comments on: "Pawm Etiquette….Day Two Hundred, Seventy Six" (34)

  1. Very cute. I don’t think I could get Storm to wear those wings. Not sure Thunder (or Storm) would not embarrass us with a hump or two…lol. Love that first picture.

  2. LOL don’t think it was easy. I think I could have gotten her to retrieve a duck faster than I got them to pose. She got really cute with the wings though, she would lift her paw to assist me in putting them on. 🙂

    You have good dogs, I’m sure they would have behaved. 😉

  3. Wow, what a lot of info to take in!! Tessa and I have been practising our Pawltz and will give a pretty good turn, thank you for the advise for the end of the night, our Peeps will be watching the clock waiting for us to get home! Lou xxx

    Rubie and I have been making arrangements for ages now ever since she so kindly agreed to be my date. we have been working on the Dogtrot as our signature dance and we will turn heads I think! We’re very grateful for your experienced advice in this, we are more used to furtling in the fields so need all the help we can get! Dex xxx

  4. Get the computer away from those dogs! They are way too silly. Who knew it would come to this once they figured out that opposable thumb thing?

  5. OMG this post just put a huge smile on my face! Delilah and Sampson, you look wonderful in your Pawm attire

  6. Thanks Patty, glad we could make you smile. We think we look spiffy too!

  7. Thanks so much for such an interesting class! Since this is my first date ever and my first date with Louis I am very happy to learn all this stuff.

    Louis and I have been working very hard on the Pawltz so we sure hope that we look good out there on the dance floor.

    This is so very exciting, I can hardly wait for the Pawm!

    woos, Tessa

  8. That is hysterical stuff! BOL!! All very important to know though if the pawm is to be a success!!!

    Thank, Sampson and Delilah, for your words of wisdom and insight!

    AROOOOF!
    Boondocks & The Love Shack Pack

  9. Well I am going stag, so how do I ask an unattached girl doggie to dance? and how do I know if she is unattached? I already has my name down on 3 girls dance cards so at least I has 3 girls I knows I will be dancing with. ~Fenris

    Us cats think nuzzle to the muzzle, might be x-rated. We might have to explain this expression to Fenris later, he is a rather innocent chap. ~Socks, Scylla & Artemisia

  10. Delilah: Fenris, I suggest you just walk up to her and say and ask if her if she would care to dance. If she is with someone and has any pedigree at all, she will politely decline.

    Socks, Scylla & Artemisia, do you think it was too down and dirty?

  11. Donna Corcoran said:

    LOL I LOVE it!

  12. Love, love love it!!

    Sampson & Delilah you look wonderful and Cheyenne & Riva send a big rooroo for giving such a wonderful class!

  13. Woof! Woof! Very CUTE!!! I sure like your outfits. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  14. Frankie Furter said:

    I don’t KNOW what in the WORLD is wrong with my MOM… She is runnin around in clrcles and LAFFIN like a NUT Nabbin Squirrel.

    I HOWEVER found this to be a WONDERFULLY Informating and MOST helpful POST. THANK you SOOOO much for getting the PAWn started off on the Right Paw!!

    Geeesh… mom is now ROLLIN on the floor. She is CRAZY. BUTT YOU are SUPER DUPER.

  15. I LOVE the wings and how they compliment Samson’s tie. Very lovely couple, you two!

  16. A most informative post! Wish we had bothered to get dates so we could go to the PAWM but we’re gonna stop by anyway and check out everybody’s PAWM fashions and dance moves! Love your matching pawm fashions!

    The Road Dogs

  17. There is loads of great pawm information here. Thanks for hosting this class so I don’t get in trouble with my date, Bella.

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  18. Thanks so much for the pawn information. Both me and Bobo followed all your directions and had a pawsome time.

    {{{huggies}}}}….Mona

  19. That was pawtastic! Sampson and Delilah did a great job – the presentation was very well organized, provided lots of information and was fun to read. 🙂 Hope they have fun at the pawm!

  20. Wow, I think this was a super post and I really put this info into use. I guarantee that this is a lot of why the pawm was such a pawesome success! Everyone had a great time and I’m sure it was because we all had better advise than Miss Manners! Great work and this was really cute! 🙂
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

Leave a comment