Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Day Three Hundred, Twelve

A while back I wrote a post about an elderbull with medical needs. At the time Love and a Six Foot Leash, the fostering family were holding a raffle to raise money for Lady Zabora’s medical expenses.  Their goal at the time was to raise enough money to provide for Zabora’s medical expenses so the family who brought “Zee” to her forever home wouldn’t have that worry. 

The donations made from that raffle went above and beyond the fundraising expectations; in fact so much so that Zabora’s medical needs will be met and there is money left-over.  Think for a minute just how amazing this is.  But it gets better!  And this is the part that really blows me away.

Yesterday I received an e-mail from Love And A Six Foot Leash, that opened like this “We have sent Little Zee off to her forever-home with a hefty “dowry” for her vet, and even got to pay for a training class at her neighborhood training facility. But even after all of that, plus all of her medical bills, we have a substantial amount of money left over– this is why I am writing you today. What should we do with the excess money?”

The e-mail then went on to give four ideas for use of the excess money which were all phenomenal ideas and then asked for input!!  I’m amazed and humbled by the honesty and sincerity exhibited by Love And a Six Foot Leash, they could very well have made the decision themselves as the best way to use the money, instead they reached out on a personal level to find out what other people thought.  (I’m thinking I might have to suggest they run for congress.) 🙂

I shot her back a quick e-mail and let her know I supported option #1; which was to sponsor a 10 for $10 day at their local over-whelmed shelter.  In this event they will ‘spot-light’ 10 of the dogs who have been at the shelter the longest and the $150 adoption fee will be reduced to $10.  Hopefully this will make room for 10 more dogs to get an opportunity that otherwise wouldn’t be available to them.

If you are thinking that finances are tight, the economy stinks and you don’t have any money to give, keep in mind my humble donation was $20.  But when combined with $20 (or $10 or $5) from someone else, well we DID make a difference! 

A while back I received a phone call from the Humane Society asking for a donation to help stop puppy mills.  At the time finances were REALLY tight and I said to the woman, “Listen if I had $10 a month to spare, it would certainly be to STOP PUPPY MILLS, but I don’t.”  At the time I couldn’t even make a commitment of $10 per month. 

I can however make a commitment to do what I can, wherever that may be; and I am trusting in a higher power to guide me to it.

This is the Saturday morning  BlogHop, hosted by Two Little Cavaliers, you can get your link here.

 

Comments on: "Day Three Hundred, Twelve" (8)

  1. What a great success! It is so cool when people do make a difference. Awesome job. : )

  2. Thanks, I’m really happy they have enough to help others!!

  3. What a great ending for that dog, AND that rescue organization!

  4. It is nice to read about a happy ending. I try to send a little something to Chessie rescue when I can. Sometimes I designate to help with medical expenses, sometimes it is for general fund, but as you say lots of littles can make a difference.

    And if it was HSUS calling you, I can’t say I am unhappy that you were unable to help fund that organization.

  5. I think a little bit when we can is good.

    I agree with you, I prefer to put the money to the smaller more community minded places rather than the big corporate peeps. 🙂 Welcome back!

  6. Great news about Zee 🙂
    You are so right Jodi, every little bit helps!
    I try to support my local Humane Society (never HSUS) when I can and also the Chessie rescues. I have a freind who works for CBRR&R (Chesapeake Bay Retriever Relief & Rescue and sometimes she has to travel a ways to pick up a dog and she will ask me to ride along to keep her company so even if I don’t have any money to donate I feel I am helping by doing this.

  7. I agree with you Misty, any contribution whether it be time or money is definitely helping!!
    That is a wonderful thing you are doing!

Leave a comment