Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Last year my mother had valve replacement surgery.  A surgery which should have had her home in 5 days turned into a 10 day hospital stay and then a three-week rehabilitation at a local convalescent home.

The rehabilitation facility we choose had just opened their new cardiac wing and mom was probably the third or fourth person admitted.  My mom did not want to go to a “nursing home” because back when she was a child, that is where the older folks went and more than likely they didn’t come home.  We did our best to reassure her that we were not sending her there to die, just to get well and strong enough so I could manage her care at home.

Even with daily visits from my sister and myself, mom was very lonely. One day I had the thought to ask if the dogs could go in for a visit; the nursing staff agreed immediately; as long as the dogs were well-behaved. 🙂

Needless to say, it was a fairly rough month for me, with going back and forth to the hospital and then daily trips to the convalescent home.  It was also a confusing time for Sampson and Delilah because I wasn’t home a lot and when I was home, I was a bit stressed so bringing them with me was a win-win.

Saturday morning Hubby and I loaded the dogs in the car and headed off to the convalescent home; where mom was very excited to have some furry visitors.

The dogs were very well-behaved and charmed everyone who met them; we even got to take mom outside to the courtyard to enjoy a bit of spring sunshine.

Comments on: "Therapy Dogs….Day Three Hundred, Twenty Nine" (19)

  1. That’s really great. I bet your Mom was really happy to see Sampson and Delilah. You should get them into a therapy dog program. They look like they are naturals.

  2. That’s great that you thought to ask for permission. Many people would just assume the answer was no and not bother.

    It sounds like Sampson and Delilah were therapeutic for you and your mom and probably others at the rehab center.

  3. I’m reading a book about therapy dogs. So many wonderful stories. I wish all hospitals and nursing homes would see the value to the patients.

  4. How awesome that they allowed them into the nursing home to visit your mom. I agree with 2browndogs, if they love people and you think they’ll be as well behaved with strangers petting them as with your Mom, there’s nothing more rewarding than therapy dog work!

  5. Ahhh – it looks like Sampson and Delilah make great therapy dogs!

    And whoa, I just noticed you have my blog on your blog roll – thank you! 🙂

  6. and as I recall there was a happy ending!

  7. So so sweet : ) Love this! Made me think of my dad when he was in the nursing home. They had a ‘residential’ pup that semi-lived there. Brought smiles to so many people. This is what I hope to do with Miss Stella soon.

  8. awww how wonderful. When my grandpa was in the nursing home haylie was a puppy and about 6 months old and they let me bring her up there and she loved it and it always cheered up my grandpa, its a memory I will never forget. I hope your mom is doing well.

    • Thanks Kari, I’m glad the medical field is beginning to acknowledge how animals can help us heal. I know if I were in hospital nothing would make me feel better like a good cuddle with my pups.

  9. I agree with the others, they look like they would make great therapy dogs. I love when I find public places that will let me bring the dogs in.

    Years ago I worked in a group home for mentally and physically disabled adults and we brought our dogs to work every night, the residents loved them.

    • Misty I would LOVE a job like that!! That is so awesome, you get to be with your dogs and your dogs love being around people. Plus you get some healing with the patients. Win win!

  10. Sounds like everyone had heart in this situation– mom, dogs, nurses, and daughter. 🙂

Leave a comment