Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Kreativ Blogger Award

Our dear friend at 2BrownDawgs presented us with the Kreativ Blogger Award.  🙂

This award comes with a bit of direction, the first being share ten things about yourself or your blog that people might not know.

I have to admit, I’ve really been thinking quite hard about this and since I pretty much put everything ‘out there’ I’m not real sure how this will play out, but I’ll give it a shot.  I decided to mix it up, and tell you a little bit about me and a bit about the dogs. 🙂

1.  My post last week, A Christmas Miracle was written very spontaneously, and was the first time I had ever tried a writing prompt.  I really liked the challenge of that writing prompt and intend to participate whenever I can.

2.  I have to gate off my Christmas tree because one of my dogs LOVES to pull off and chew ornaments or open packages.  I’ll give you three guesses who it is and the first two don’t count. 😉

3.  I’m a dreamer, I dream someday of becoming a published author.  My problem is I just can’t figure out how to make it happen and how to get the words out of my head and into the computer. 😦

4.  Sampson is part Labrador but he really doesn’t care for swimming.  Mostly he just likes to wade in or lie down in the water.   Occasionally he will take a quick swim, but that is it for him.

Sometimes I just like Daddy to hold me.

5.  Delilah is pure lab, she LOVES the water and would fetch a stick in the water all day if we would let her.

I can do this all day, how's your arm feel?

6.  I love to sing, mostly classic rock.  But I can’t sing.  Hubby says I am ‘tone-deaf,’ and turns the music louder when I do sing. 😦

7.  Back when I was pregnant they didn’t do ultra sounds unless there was something wrong.  I found out I was having twins 5 hours before they were delivered by c-section.

8. My hands always have to be busy, even if I am watching TV, I usually am either on my laptop, crocheting, knitting or playing solitaire.  I really struggle to just sit and relax.

9.  I’m a big Lord of the Rings fan, if you’ve been around a while you know Sampson’s middle name is Aragorn.  I have the “One” ring on a chain.  I also have the serpent ring that Aragorn wears in all the movies.  Over Thanksgiving Starz aired the trilogy, back to back to back to back to back, everytime you turned a TV on in our house, LOTR was on.  It was pure heaven.

One ring to rule them all, one ring to find them. One ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.

10.  I think the real hero of LOTR was Samwise Gamgee, if it wasn’t for Samwise well poor Frodo probably wouldn’t have made it out of the shire.

Now comes the REALLY hard part, pass the award on to six other blogs.

In no particular order

Fabulous Flo – Flo is a Rhodesian Ridgeback who comes from the land down under.  Flo is the first experience raising a dog that her human has ever had, kick back and enjoy the ride with her.

Hound Girl – Kari lives in Texas with her Blood Hound Fred, and her Labrador Haylie, Kari says what she means and means what she says!   Mosey on down for a warm southern welcome.

Life at Golden Pines – I found this blog a while back and I love reading about Kim’s life in rural Virginia with a houseful of Goldens.  Kim is someone whose heart is as big as all outdoors, she is always reading and willing to help foster a dog looking for a forever home.

My Reality Show – Mary Ann is a writer, she recently adopted her dog Lila from the Humane Society, but don’t think this blog is just about Lila, Mary Ann is a creative writer, and there is always something interesting going on here.

Pawfect Friend – Nicole is a dog groomer and has the cutest little dog, Aladdin.  One day she will own her own grooming salon, but until then she will share her stories with us.

Shoes On The Wrong Feet – I started reading this blog not too long ago, this gal is a microbiologist and left her career to raise her two little boys, you can bet with her mind there is always something educational going on.  I’ve already learned a few things myself. :-0

That’s it folks, when you get a minute check out some of these blogs, I know you will be as much of a fan as I am.

 

Comments on: "Kreativ Blogger Award" (29)

  1. Congratulations on your award, you are very deserving.

    I can’t wait to check out the blogs you recommend.

  2. Congratulations on your award!

    Thank you so much for awarding me the Kreativ Blogger Award. I am very honored!

    Thanks again!

  3. Congrats on the award!
    Love the photos of the dogs!
    I like your #3 about wanting to be a published author; don’t give up, follow your dreams and they just may come true! Try this – jot down bits and pieces of what you want in your book, and soon you will be putting them all together, in the right order – you just have to start!
    I’m trying to take my own advice!

    • You know Barb, I think you may have just inspired me. 🙂 I will get a pack of index cards (my preferred way to study) and write one thing down on each card, then BOOM it all goes together~

      What are you going to do to make your dream come true? Maybe we can encourage each other. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your award!
    I’m a dreamer too:))

  5. Congrats again. You really deserved the award and I enjoyed your 10 things.

    Your tree is very pretty. Great idea about gating off the tree. We put ours in a corner and a big chair in front of it. 🙂

    The Golden Retriever we had before the Chessies was not a swimmer. He would wade just like Sampson. He liked water, but just to wade.

    I love LOTR too. Mostly because it has such a positive underlying theme…doing what is right no matter the cost. 🙂

    • Thank you, I appreciate your confidence in me and your support.

      What has worked in the past with the tree is simply putting it next to the couch and closing off the front with the side of a dismantled crate. This year as we were working on the tree I noticed the cat sitting under it. Now this is a new development, so I put one crate side against the couch and one in front. We shall see if this deters Bob. I wasn’t quite sure if the tree needed beads or crystals but Hubby said he liked it so we left it.

      I wonder if it’s the Golden part of the Retriever that makes them not like to swim? (LOL didn’t that sound wierd?)

      I love stories where they do the right thing, isn’t that the way we should all live? So you are a fellow LOTR? What do they call us? BTW, I named my GPS Frodo, I figure if he could find his way into Mordor he should be able to get me anywhere. 😉

  6. Congrats on the award! It was very cool to learn a bit about you.
    Toby’s not a swimmer either. How funny is that?
    I can’t imagine the surprise you felt about finding out about twins right before delivering. Wow! That’s something!
    Looking forward to finding the time to check out some more blogs.

    PS – Also looking forward to when you find the time to get some of your words down on paper and get them published!

  7. Frankie Furter said:

    About your writing… could I make a suggestion? Find a VERY VERY good Writer Group. If you find a GOOD one… it will be a huge help with the entire pawcess.
    At one time I (Frankie Furter) belonged to THREE… AND guess what?? THEY would even let me bring my MOM to the meetings. It was through One of the groups that I was introduced to Blogging.

  8. I love LOTR too…it took me a while after I saw the trilogy to come back to the “real” world. I do think there are some amazing lessons there about friendship.

    You ARE a published writer! Lots of people who have books out there would kill to have as many readers as you do 🙂 Blogging is a great way to start.

  9. Congratulations Jodi!!!! Your “A Christmas Miracle” story was a big hit and I am sure you will achieve your dream of becoming a published author one day – you deserve to be.

  10. Just keep writing and blogging and the inspiration will come for a book someday.

  11. YAY congrats on your award and thanks for passing it along!! We really appreciate it and always love your feed back. It really does bring a smile to my face, even when I’m having the worst of day (or sometimes weeks!)! I’ll be sure to spread on the joy! Thanks again 😀

  12. […] Kreativ Blogger Award – Author’s Note […]

  13. […] dog!  We have only lost two ornaments so far.  I remember seeing a picture similar to this on Life with Sampson and Delilah, a blog about two labs.  […]

  14. […] I noted in an earlier post, I have to keep my tree gated off to keep Delilah from eating the […]

  15. Holy Cow I missed this post – you are such a dear to nominate us and to say such a sweet thing about my blog 🙂

    ps. I have to gate my tree off… a certain chocolate lab eats the ornaments and this year I fell asleep with the gate down and she ate some of the lights… sigh..

  16. ok – I know it took me FOREVER to post about this. First congrads on your award. Your focus and writing style is impressive. I always look forward to discovering another post from you just waiting for me to read.
    Thank you so much for the award, it truly means a lot to me. You were one of my very first “followers” (it sounds so cultish to me, that word) and I appreciate your comments and your acknowledgement in the form of awards. I have finally written a post about the Kreativ Blogger Award and wanted to let you know. 🙂

  17. […] award by our friend at 2 Brown Dawgs, I am going to cheat and just give you the link to that post. […]

Leave a comment