Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

One For The Team

Today was a doggie daycare day.  I know, I know, the dogs don’t play at doggie daycare, but Hubby and I talked about it and we are okay with them going for the companionship.

We have a routine on daycare day, after I put my purse and tote bag in the car I go back for the dogs.  Sampson likes to walk down the driveway and follow the property line up to the telephone pole, where he sniffs and lifts.  Delilah is on leash and she and I will follow him down, then we turn and head to the car.  Sometimes Sampson is a straggler, he takes his time making his way to the car.  That was the case this morning.

Delilah was already in the car when Sampson headed up the drive.  I stood at the back of the car waiting for Sampson so I could close the hatch.  Just as Sampson reached the car and was getting ready to jump in, it happened.

The hatch began to close.  It was almost like slow motion, I saw the hatch falling and I saw Sampson’s head and instinctively I reached out with my hand to grab it.  The weight of the hatch brought the back of my hand onto Sampson’s head but I kept the hatch from hitting him.  In the process though, I took one for the team.

At first I thought I had broken my pointer and middle finger.

It was really cold and the car hadn’t warmed up so I alternated between placing my fingers on the cold steering wheel and sticking them in my mouth.

Why?  Why do we stick our fingers in our mouths when they hurt?

Eventually my fingers warmed up and the numbness faded.  I’m not sure if you can tell from the picture, those two fingers are pretty swollen and my middle finger has a horrible bruise and doesn’t bend properly due to the swelling, but they are feeling much better tonight.

The more important thing is Sampson wasn’t afraid to jump into the car this afternoon which means he wasn’t traumatized!

What about you, have you ever had to ‘take one for the team?’

Comments on: "One For The Team" (18)

  1. Yikes! It looks painful. Hope it is better soon.

  2. Thank you, it just feels really tight. I think it will get better!

  3. The things we do to protect our four legged members of the family – but my instincts would have been exactly the same as yours, so good on ya!
    Hope your fingers don’t stay sore for too long.

  4. Jodi! hope your fingers heal quickly.. I agree with Barb, the things we do for our pets!

  5. That looks painful Jodi! You were lucky you didn’t break anything.

    • It really wasn’t as painful as I expected it to be, once the intial trauma subsided it wasn’t bad at all, but now I am on the mend and very thankful I didn’t break them!

  6. I’ve been gone for a while, so sorry I haven’t been by to visit your blog. Hope your fingers feel better! It was for a good cause, though, and I have the feeling you would’ve felt worse if Sampson had gotten the hurt instead.
    “Why do we stick our fingers in our mouths when they hurt?” – I honestly think it really helps us in some way. If I hold a bruise or burn right after it happens, it goes away. Weird, huh?

  7. OUCH! But you still managed to type, so that’s good. Hope they heal soon.

  8. Frankie Furter said:

    OUCH!!!! I can’t believe that your mom didn’t let you two LICK her fingers. THAT would have made them feel better INSTANTLY. Sheeeesh.. Peeps … Never thinkin right, are they? Well, at LEAST she made the PAWper decision when she saw what MIGHT have happend.

  9. Ouchy!! They do look swollen and bruised. Hope they feel better real soon.

    Would have done the same thing. Just last week I tripped and fell right into the x-pen and in order not to squish puppies I was bracing myself in a very awkward position, finally I relaxed slightly and the pen kind of bounced me up. But I have been very sore in my neck, shoulder blade and through the chest area all on the right side, I’m right handed so every time I do anything with the right hand/arm it starts to ache but each day it is getting better.

  10. I also hope you heal fast. I’ve broken to many bones to even keep track! I love how after you hurt something, it seems to get bumped no matter how much you try to keep it out of the way! At least Sampson is safe! I would have done the same for Aladdin! 🙂

  11. […] One For The Team – Update […]

Leave a comment