Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Never A Dull Moment

Some days I really struggle to find something people will enjoy reading, but truthfully most days I rely on my dogs to give me something to write about.

Most mornings Delilah is laying on the bed while I busy myself in the bathroom.  At a certain point in my routine she determines either a) it is time for her to rise and shine or b) I have spent enough time in the bathroom and it is her job to come in and help me move along.

She does this by coming up at me from behind and shoving her head between my legs.  I know, totally weird.  It looks like I’m giving birth to a chocolate lab.    Once she has her head there, it is pretty hard to make her stop.  You walk, she goes with you.   You stop.  She stops.

Cute?  Maybe.

Funny?  Not really when you are on a time schedule.

Work for “Dancing with your dog?”  Quite possibly.

Most days Sampson has turned in his spot on the bed, for a spot on the sofa in front of the fire.  Smart dog that Sampson.  Sometimes when he hears Delilah making her ruckus, he comes to peek in and see what we are doing.

Other days, they start wrestling on the bed.

Today was a combination day, Delilah came into the bathroom and walked with me (with her head between my legs) all over the bathroom.  Then Sampson poked his head in and the two of them went out into the bedroom and started wrestling.

I was in a mood to listen to some music this morning, so I grabbed my iPod and put the ear buds in.  When I was finished in the bathroom I turned around to shut of the lights and leave and that’s when I saw it.

Blood.  Fresh blood.  Little drops of fresh blood all over the bathroom floor! Lots of little drops of fresh blood all over the floor.

I shouted for the dogs and they both came running and then the real comedy began.  They know their names.  Really they do.  But for some reason when you call them and say, “Delilah sit” they both sit.  “Delilah sit” and “Sampson come” result in both dogs sitting or both dogs approaching me.

Finally I got them sorted out and I had Delilah in front of me while I checked her nails.  It made sense to me to start with the nails.  As I was checking her second paw I looked over and noticed Sampson was bleeding on his right forepaw.  Is that a word?  It is now.  It would be your forearm, you know the part between your elbow and wrist?  It was the part between his elpaw and paw.  Yeah, that’s a word now too. Elpaw.

I got a towel and wet it and scrubbed at the blood to find out what I was dealing with, it looked like a small wound, either a scratch from the woods or maybe a tooth puncture from wrestling with Delilah.  While I was cleaning at this I noticed he had blood on his shoulder too!  Thankfully the blood on his shoulder was secondary blood from the first wound, but don’t ask me how he got it from his forepaw to his shoulder, but he did.

I cleaned him up, put a little Cortaid on it and sent him on his way.   But I will keep an eye on it just in case. 🙂

Book update: I have 3,007 words in my book.

Comments on: "Never A Dull Moment" (23)

  1. Frankie Furter and Ernie said:

    Oh Yes.. the Mystery Injury. Not a BORING way to start your day though. I’m just sayin.

  2. I enjoy your doggie stories, but not the one with a hurt Sampson. 😦 Poor guy! The mental picture of Delilah poking her head between your legs has me laughing.

  3. I’d love to see a photo of Delilah poking her head between your legs and you trying to walk with her – priceless!
    Poor Sampson bleeding like that – hope it’s nothing serious. Perhaps Delilah caught him with one of her nails when they were wrestling, and if she did, she would have blood on her paw which could have then got on Sampson’s shoulder when they continued playing!

  4. LOL Maybe someday…you will see a photo.

    Yes I was thinking that or she poked him with her tooth and had a bit on her tooth which then got on his shoulder. You never know, but I was glad it wasn’t something worse!

  5. Your stories about the dogs are always entertaining. Keep ’em coming!

  6. A friend of mine recently had a similar incident in her home. Her dog had managed to (brace yourself) rip off one her nails. Heather found out by following a trail of blood ALL through the house that appeared while she was cooking dinner. She found her pup at the other end, giving her a look like “SO glad you figured this out. Now fix my alsjdflkj paw!!!!” They got everything cleaned up and taken care of.

    I know I’m a little behind the times (a move, life, etc. has all gotten in the way of blogging and blog friends…I’ve written a few posts with the details) but congratulations on writing your book and you’re awesome progress! I can’t wait to read it!

    • That is really what I was afraid of. Sampson has dew claws (Delilah’s were off when we got her.) No-one mentioned having them removed when we had him neutered, so I always worry about him tearing one. I’m so glad it wasn’t anything more serious.

      Thanks for stopping by we’ve missed you but understand….hey you’ve got life! 🙂

  7. someone at the dog-park pointed out to me that Gwynn was bleeding from the mouth once… nearly had a heart-attack! I had visions of finding that one of his teeth had been torn out (his adult, permenant teeth) on… another dog’s collar or something. Nothing was wrong that I could see, but what a way to get the adrenalin pumping!

  8. Oh goodness… glad it turned out to be nothing major. Also, I’m totally adding “elpaw” and “forepaw” to my vocabulary. 🙂

  9. Scary stuff. I don’t usually have problems with blood but coming out of my dog is a different matter. I am glad it was something minor and easily fixed.

    I will also be using forepaw from now on, crediting yourself, of course. Why not? I used to call the front legs arms, just for lack of a better term. That and I’m too lazy to type front leg all the time. Forepaw is much faster.

    • Well it kind of freaked me out a little bit. 🙂 I’m glad it was something easy too, I worry about those dew claws.

      You don’t need to give me credit for the word, just use it and have fun. If it makes someone give you a funny look, think of me. :0

  10. jenniferhinders said:

    I always hate it when dogs get hurt…glad he’s okay.

  11. Fun fun. Glad it was nothing serious. And of course things like this always happen in the morning when you are rushing around to get things done. Love your new words by the way. I’m sure you know, but in case you don’t, Shakespeare invented quite a few of the words we use today! 🙂

  12. Those paws are always getting into trouble, aren’t they? No surprise given the adventures they go on. Fortunately they do seem to heal quickly!

  13. […] Never A Dull Moment – Author’s Note […]

  14. Relieved to hear that the spots of blood were not from something more serious. Yes, I too would like to see a picture of Delilah poking her head between your legs and you trying to walk with her! 🙂

  15. Glad the blood wasn’t too serious. It didn’t seem to faze Samson, anyway.

    Honey wants Delilah to know she’s doing it wrong, by the way. She needs to go between your legs from the front so that her butt ends up in the perfect place to get scratchies. At least that’s how Honey does it. 🙂

Leave a comment