Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Lessons From My Dog

Yesterday morning I took the dogs out front with me when I went to get the mail.  Sampson of course was off leash, Delilah was on her six-foot leash.

As we were walking back up to the house Delilah decided to investigate in the snow.  She stuck her nose right in and came up with snow on it.  At the time (of course) I didn’t have my camera on me to snap the photo, but I did have a thought and I was trying to figure out how to work it into a post.

I was still trying tonight, so I turned to my google reader thinking one of you and your blog posts would inspire me.  Sure enough the first blog in the reader was “From Snow To No (Snow)” at the 2 Brown Dawgs blog.

She has pictures of little puppy, Freighter playing in the snow.  Go check them out, I can wait.

Isn’t he just adorable?

Look at his little face all covered in snow.

And this was my thought, we can all learn a lesson from our dogs and that lesson would be,

“Don’t be afraid to stick your nose in the snow, you never know what you will discover.”

Book Update : My book is the same as yesterday 4,809. 😦

Comments on: "Lessons From My Dog" (19)

  1. I don’t know how dogs can stand to rub their faces in the snow! Lila will make a trail with her face! I suppose it is different for her because she has fur, but still, it amazes me. It must feel really good. I am glad she enjoys it:)

    You are doing very well on your word count for your book!

  2. Indiana loves sticking his nose in the snow. Usually to try and find something delicious underneath!

  3. I can’t imagine sticking my face in the snow like a pup. But I sure like the way it feels on my face when I’m walking or biking. Maybe snow dogs do know best.

    BTW, don’t worry about the book. You’re making great progress.

  4. No worries, I’ve been working on Aladdin’s adventure (book) pretty much since last march. The words will come and go. They mostly go for me, lol short attention span I think. One of my author friends always suggest that when you hit a spot where you can’t think (write), read your favorite book. It’s your favorite because it sparks something in you, and you are always looking for that spark! Or sometimes, you just need a day of sticking your nose in the snow!

    Good luck with your book!

  5. Awe thanks for the shout out! I always find it funny when they just bury their faces in the snow. Freighter kept looking at me with his little face all full of snow, but I was too slow to catch the full-on picture. Maybe next time if we get more snow.

    Hopefully you will find time to write today. 🙂

  6. LOL. What a terrific lesson, you are so right! It’s actually along the lines of what I have been thinking about lately too. I’ve been trying to think of a theme for this year, a little late, I know. Perhaps you have just inspired me! Stay tuned. 😉

  7. Queenie’s favorite trick when it snows is to go over to the nearest hill, get on her back and slide down on her back. It’s a hoot to watch.

  8. Great post and you are so right we should be more like our dogs 🙂 The first snowfall the puppies experienced I looked out to see Titan leaping up trying to catch the snowflakes 🙂

    Thanks again for checking on me, you are so sweet and I am truly blessed to have found such a great friend.

    Wow 4809 words in your book, that is wonderful!! Keep up the great work 🙂

  9. Hi Y’all,

    What a saying! Thought I’d try it out, but we don’t have snow either.

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  10. Hey Jodi I have a question for you, I remember reading a post where you mention using the google reader, I am wondering about that tool. I have subsrcibed all the blogs I read there but how do I get them to go there and not in my inbox?

    • You have to go into your wordpress account, Dashboard, Blogs I follow and you can unsubscribe there. I don’t do that because I know some people look at those numbers so what I do is just delete them in my e-mail and read them through the reader. 🙂

      • Oh I wondered because they aren’t going into the reader at all, maybe it takes a day to catch up. Yes I wouldn’t want to unsubscibe either. Thank you 🙂

      • It should be instant. When you go to the reader, on the left hand side is a button that says “subscribe” when you click on that a little window should come up that is where the blog address goes. How I started it was opening the reader in one window and my e-mail in another. Then I click on the link in the e-mail that takes me to the post of the subscribed blog. I go to the blog’s home page and copy the URL and past that in the google reader subscribe window and click add. Let me know if that works for you.

  11. […] all but given up until yesterday, when I read this post from Life with Sampson and Delilah… The 411. Jodi said this: “Don’t be afraid to stick your nose in the snow, you never know what you will […]

  12. OK, somebody HAS to say it… well maybe they don’t, but I’m going to… just don’t stick your nose in yellow snow. 🙂

    BTW. I’m now using Google reader thanks for the tip. This is the first day I’ve used it and it is making it much easier. But blimey, there are some prolific posters out there! It’s going to take me all night!

    H

Leave a comment