Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Pep Squad

True confession, I always wanted to be cheerleader when I was in high school, problem was that I wasn’t exactly athletic and no one would ever accuse me of being popular, the two criteria in my high school for being a cheer leader.

You may be aware I have two very different dogs.

So when I am ready to go to bed and I say, “Who wants to do pee pee?” I get two very different reactions.

As soon as I make a move to get off the couch, or shut down my laptop, Delilah will jump up from her cozy spot on the couch and head for the door.

Sampson who eats his 9:00pm treat in the bedroom has already called it a night.  At this point I have three choices.

1)  I can just let Delilah out and leave Sampson (honestly he can hold it a very long time, especially if it’s raining.)

2)  I can go in and literally drag Sampson off the bed, where he will reluctantly walk to the back door and casually step outside.

Or I can become a cheer leader, fulfilling my high school dream and getting my dogs to go outside in the process.

It goes something like this, “Who wants to go pee pee?”

Delilah jumps up and we walk to the back door and then I say very loudly and excitedly:

“Do you see it?  Do you have it?  Are you going to get it?  You got it?  Do you have your eye on it?  Ready?  Are you ready?  Ok.  Ready, ready go get it!”

At my first words of “Do you see it?”  Sampson has un-assed himself from bed and rushed to the door, I then finish my pep talk, and it deviates in any  number of ways, but the gist is all basically the same.  There is something outside that you absolutely MUST see.

“Ready, one, two, three, GO!”  I open the door and they burst through the doorway like speeding locomotives.

After I shut the door behind them, I usually chuckle as I pat myself on the back. 🙂  I made the squad!

Book update: I have 10,157 words!!

Comments on: "Pep Squad" (12)

  1. I’m glad that your cheerleading skills are being put to good use! Funny post!

  2. Toby would rather snooze than pee too. Good way to trick ’em and get him out the door.

    Awesome to see you passed the 10K mark so quickly. Keep it up!!

  3. ROTFLMAO! That is awesome. If it’s raining, no amount of rah-rah-rah will get Felix off the couch. Maybe I’m just not trying hard enough…my old pom poms must be aroound here somewhere…

  4. I’m so glad to read this post. Now my nightly ritual with the pompoms to get all the dogs outside doesn’t make me seem like so much of a nut case.

  5. LOL Jodi I have the best and funniest image of you and the dogs in my head right at this moment 🙂

    I see you broke 10,000 woohoo way to go!!

  6. Frankie Furter and Ernie said:

    OMD OMD… I feel like such a SQUIRREL… I have NEVER realized it… My mom does this exact same thingy to ME (Frankie Furter). My life is a SHAM … She has TRICKED me.. like 87 million times. SHEEEEESH …

  7. That’s hilarious! I do something similar with Gwynn… psyche him out before letting him outside so that he goes further than the porch. Sometimes he just wants to stand on the porch for a minute and then go back inside, but if I talk it up, he’ll race right out and circle the yard before doing his business, and then come back in.

  8. Way to go team! Who says you’re not popular?

  9. I trust that your cheer leading routine is carried out with pom poms! 🙂

  10. Un-assed! 🙂 Hehehehe – you make me laugh.

  11. You have been a busy little writer. 🙂

    Thunder and Freighter both drag their heels about going out if it isn’t “their” idea. Maybe I should resort to cheer leading. 🙂

  12. […] I can think why is that I sometimes psyche the dogs into going outside by giving them a little pep talk.  I think the excitement in  my voice tells her something exciting and fun is about to […]

Leave a comment