Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Follow-Up Friday

For those new to the blog, my follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby! :-)

Adventures In Daycare – Update

Well the ambulance came and took the poor drunk visitor away.  Sara says he just came in, said he needed an ambulance and  he liked dogs better than he liked humans. Who would have thought?  LOL

She had to put two dogs in the very back because they were being very protective about Sara and Dianne.  Tater who I believe is a pit bull mix and one crazy chocolate lab who was trying to go over the counter. :-0

Sara said when he reached in his jacket for the bottle she almost wet herself at first, good thing for Kegel exercises. 🙂

Paws To The Rescue – Author’s Note

I have to admit I was a bit nervous about puppies, since the rescue really stresses using bleach to help prevent the spread of Parvo. I mixed up three bottles full of a bleach solution and as soon as the puppies left, I threw all the towels in one crate and dumped two bottles of bleach in with them.

I probably should have waited until we got home when I could have taken the crate out of the car and sat it in the driveway. Instead we had to drive the 55 minutes home with the windows down to keep from asphyxiating ourselves. Good thing it was a nice day. 😉

Lesson learned.

Sharing Knowledge – Author’s Note

Let’s face it, we dog people are passionate about our fur babies.  We all have ideas on the right way to train a dog and the right way to feed a dog.  None of us likes to hear anything we consider as criticism regarding our babies.

I know first hand, Christine who used to own First Command (before it became The Mellow Mutt) once said to me that I might like to consider putting Sampson on low-calorie kibble.  I was never a big fan of hers nor she mine and therefore when she told me that I looked her dead in the eye and said, “I don’t want to.”

As it turns out, I did put him on a low-calorie kibble, and then moved him to raw.  We like raw, but not everyone does nor is it inexpensive and in this economy, sometimes we need to make hard decisions.

The Murphy situation is a tough one, and I think if I ever get the opportunity to speak with one of her parents I will, in the meantime the best we all can do is try to educate people.

Talk about it, you never know who might be listening!

Book update: My book has 19,477 words.

Comments on: "Follow-Up Friday" (9)

  1. Ok, have to admit you made me totally LOL on this Friday. 😀 I LOVE reading your stuff Jodi . . . good job!!!! 😀

  2. Frankie Furter and Ernie said:

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr I am so angry with MY COMPUTER… I can NOT get your blog to get SMALL enough fur me to be able to read everything. GRRRR. Somethingy about using Bleach and an ambulance??? Maybe… WOW I hope everybuddy is OK.

    • I’m so sorry you are having such a problem! Have you tried switching browsers? Or zooming out your browser?

      I’m not great with the technical aspect of blogging! 😦

  3. OK the idea of you driving with the windows down to avoid bleach asphyxiation has me lol.

    I bet if you do talk to Murphy’s parents, you will say it the right way. It is funny you wrote this because someone I work with brought her boxer rescue into work last week. The dog is very overweight. A shame really. I said nothing because this person thinks they know everything about having a dog and especially because she has a rescue. No kidding.

    Oh and how long have you been commenting on my blog? Must be over a year now. All of a sudden wordpress put your comments in spam. I had to fish out three or four. I MUST remember to go through my spam more regularly. Frustrating.

    • It is very sad, and to think that not that long ago my dogs were overweight. 😦 You were very wise to not say anything, especially if you know it won’t be received in the manor in which it was intended.

      I think it is a wordpress issue, I struggled with at least four different blogs yesterday trying to make comments. You aren’t the only one who said my comments went to spam.

      • But you saw they were overweight and did something about it. This woman’s son had a boxer before this dog and that dog was the correct weight, so she knows. I do cut breaks to most people because sometimes it is hard to figure the correct amount of food. Our dogs tend to go up and down depending on their exercise level. The good for us is that the dogs’ breeders will point out if they think the dog’s are too heavy. That helps us. In Thunder’s Championship picture, he is heavier than we like because he wasn’t getting as much exercise that Spring. He won’t be that heavy again, (even though it was just a few pounds, he is a better weight now). Of course last Fall he was too thin…lol…see hard to judge.

  4. I had a similar experience with bleach and have not been able to stand the smell since then. If I try I can even imagine what it smells like. Hope you aren’t marked by the experience too.

  5. I do enjoy your follow up fridays Jodi. A timne to catch up and a time to reflect. It’s a great idea!

Leave a comment