Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

WTF Wednesday

I’ve been limited this week in the WTF’s that crossed my path.

I thought I wasn’t going to have a thing to write about until yesterday morning when 2BrownDawgs started her post off like this:

“This past weekend while we were driving down the Interstate we saw something crazy.  A pickup truck was pulling a 5th wheel trailer and tied toward the front of the bed of the pickup was a Golden Retriever.  The poor thing was sort of stuffed to the side of the hitch.  We couldn’t get over how terribly unsafe the whole thing looked.  Should that hitch give way, bye-bye Golden Retriever.”

Say it with me.  What the fuck?

I would have thought in this day and age people would have the common sense to not stick a dog in the back of a pick-up truck!  The poor dog was probably terrified to start with and then add in the safety factor!

I was reminded of a story that happened a few years back.  Hubby and I were at our local warehouse club, it was winter and it was raining.  A cold New England winter rain.

I don’t know about where YOU live, but here when it rains for some strange reason people can’t walk/run/skip to their cars with their groceries.  They need to send someone (usually the husband) to get the car while the delicate ones wait under the store’s awning.    Now that I think about it, I might have been doing the same thing.  LOL

This man pulls up to get his wife and two children and he has a big, shaggy dog in the back of his pick-up truck.

I about lost my shit.

I very politely asked him if he would be moving the dog to the cab of the truck and he said no.

Game on.

I told him the dog should not be riding in the back of the pickup and he said he had no room in the truck with the two kids.

As nicely as I could, I told him to put the kids in the back of the pick-up at which point his wife chimed in stating they would if they could get away with it.

Nice.   I don’t know who I felt more sorry for, the kids or the dog.

The last thing I remember them saying to me was they could have left the dog at home by himself, locked in the basement like other people would, instead of bringing the dog with them.

I’m not sure but if I was the dog, I probably would have chosen the basement.

Sometimes I really think people should need to take a common sense test before they are allowed to try and raise anything.

Be The Dog

I love that saying, “Be The Dog.”  As I’m sure you can tell because I’ve used it in about 3 or 4 posts.

Mazzie’s assistant, Tanya said, “Awesome new mantra that couldn’t be more true. Great name for a book, product line, the list is endless…. get a logo and trademark the name now!!!!”

I got wicked excited.  So I checked the trademark office and it’s already been trademarked, which is why I’ve added JUST to Be The Dog, but I’m not even sure I can do that.

On the chance that I can’t do that, I need a new slogan and that’s where you come in.

First of all does anyone know if I can add JUST to Be The Dog?

Here are some of the slogans I’ve thought of, bear in mind I want the slogan to be motivating:

JUST Be the Dog

Believe In The Dog

Live Life Like The Dog

Trust The Dog

I Am The Dog

Who’s The Dog

What Would The Dog Do?

Of course I’m open to any and all suggestions, so let me have it!

Comments on: "WTF Wednesday" (19)

  1. I have to say that dogs riding in the back of pick up trucks is a serious pet peeve of mine. It pisses me off to no end. I don’t understand how it can be legal, not only is it unsafe for the poor dog but it is also unsafe for everyone driving around that truck. Awful. Just awful.

  2. “Just do it” has sold a gazillion sneakers. I think “Just be the dog” would be effective.

  3. Channel your inner dog? Dogs in the back of trucks is a huge pet peeve of mine too. I try to remember that we were all raised differently and believe different things, but WTF? Why isn’t everyone as smart as we are? Funny story, a friend of ours had two beagles and thought that he could put them in the back of the truck and they would “just know” that they shouldn’t jump out . . . long story short, one of them jumped out and the kids were screaming hysterically . . . He’s a seemingly smart man, but his wasn’t one of his brightest moments 🙂 (the dog was OK, but he felt a little stupid)

  4. Doggy's Style said:

    Traveling with a dog it’s not an easy thing, I’m just starting to experience it. I read in a different blog the 50/50 relatinship and honestly it’s what I think, if I can’t handle or endure a situation what would make me think a dog should or could? However, in here the things you see are far worse, like leaving dogs tied to tree at a major highway because they are not allowed at the place you picked for your vacations.
    As for the slogan I really like who’s the dog, what would the dog do? It’s really cool but I’ve seen before somewhere.

  5. I like “Be the Dog” best. However, if concerned, then “I AM the Dog” is also cool. Maybe “Feel the Dog, Be the Dog”???

  6. So what does the guy you ran into do whenever he has to travel with family and dog? WTF Just put a cap on the pick-up dude. They are not that expensive. And yeah we were like WTF when we saw the dog in the bed of the pick-up. The guy was doing 65 or 70 (it was the interstate). Plus I did not write that he seemed to have a car following with more stuff. Hey dude, leave some of the stuff and put the dog in the vehicle. I am glad I inspired you, although I wish it hadn’t been with such a stupid person. 😉 Sorry your slogan is taken. How about “I Want To Be The Dog”? I am no good at slogans. 🙂

  7. WTF is right…poor dog. I would’ve picked the basement too.
    I hope you can add the “JUST” to your slogan, Jodi – I think that one is the best of the bunch, and it’s got my vote. 🙂 Good luck!!

  8. In the city limits of Austin you can only have your dog in the bed of your truck if its crated and the crate is tied down, you can call the non emergency line 311 and call in a license plate of a violator! Now if we could get all surrounding cities to participate. Im with you the basement sounds better 🙂

    WOW so hard to choose from all of them. Keep in mind is the slogan going to be for both dogs or just Sampson or Delilah. Just something to keep in mind 🙂

  9. I think it’s way cool you confronted that guy and his family. Can I take you with me next time I go on a road trip in rural West Virginia/Virginia/Maryland….OK, anywhere?

    I like Trust the Dog–it has a nice feeling to it. I’ve been thinking of you and you’ve inspired me! Watch out for some controversial posts coming up–if anyone gets upset I’ll send them to you.

  10. There really should be a required test for having kids or pets! I like Trust the Dog.

  11. There really should be a law about animals in the back of trucks. I know a lot of local farmers would lose their shit but it is so dangerous. If they are going to do it at the very least the dog should be in a crate. If it’s illegal for people, it should be illegal for animals as well. Grrr.

    How does one even go about trademarking something like that? It makes me wonder how many things are already taken.

  12. Oh yeah, and good on you for confronting that guy! You are a hero!

    PS. My husband would never do that for me. He’d just raise an eyebrow and tell me to keep walking.

  13. Gah — we’ve seen way too many doggies riding in the back of trucks.. some not even with a leash on. SAD!!

    Woofs & huggies! ❤

    ~Bailey (Yep, I'm a girl!)

  14. How about “Being the dog” which is in the present. Dogs live for the now, I understand 😉

  15. You find ignorant people everywhere! When I worked at a vet hospital I saw first hand what happens to a dog who falls out of a truck and it isn’t pretty and they were only going about 35 can’t imagine the damage at higher speeds.

    I like “I am the dog”

  16. I like What the Fuck Would the Dog Do? lol. I guess you could leave out the expletive though.

  17. Love the slogans Jodi. I am thinking of patenting Be the Bassa 🙂

  18. Given all of the WTFs that normally cross your path, I think it’s only fair that you got a free pass for a week! That being said, your story from the past about the dog in the back of the truck in the rain is SO wrong. I feel awful for that couple’s 2 and 4 legged children. Like you, I wish there were a law! Re the mantra, I hope you can get away with simply adding “just,” but like your other suggestions as well.

  19. […] long but probably not as sad or critical as before because I’ll cover it with my adventure. Jodi and 2 Brown Dwags have mentioned on previous posts what people do with their dogs when they travel […]

Leave a comment