Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

My Vet’s In A Sling!

If you’re a long time reader of this blog you may remember that last year poor Sampson had an allergic reaction to something in our yard.  If you didn’t know about it, but want to check it out you can read about it here.

This past weekend I noticed Sampson had a couple of scabs on his head. 😦

Seeing as I haven’t gotten my vet’s cell phone number yet….I text my friend Jen (My Brown Newfies) first thing Sunday morning and asked her the proper dose of Benadryl for a dog Sampson’s size.   She may yet regret giving me that number…:-)

I started Sampson on the Benadryl immediately and called the vet first thing yesterday morning.  Unfortunately they were all booked up and couldn’t fit me in until NEXT Tuesday!

I took the appointment and asked to leave a message for my vet.

A few minutes later the office called back saying they had a cancellation and could I come in for an 11:00 am appointment. It was 10:30 am.  There was no way I could make it home to get Sampson and down to their office in that amount of time.

They said they’d keep trying.

I relayed the story to Hubby when he called at lunch time, we decided to keep Sampson on the Benadryl unless the vet told us differently.

Around 3:00 pm the vet’s office called to tell me after speaking with our vet, arrangements had been made to see Sampson this morning at 10:00.

I let Hubby know this when he came home from work, as I said it I looked over at him and said, What are you smirking about?

He said, I like how you had them bend to your will.

I laughed.  It might seem that way, but that’s not what happened.

This morning I left poor broken-hearted Delilah with Grandma, while Sampson and I took a trip to the vet.

Someone is going to come in and pet me, right Mom?

I was taking Sampson’s picture when our vet came in.  Her vet tech said,  oh I forgot to tell you about Dr. Soutter’s condition.

I whipped my head around.

My vet’s in a sling!

Dr. Soutter is suffering from a shoulder injury, which is how it happened we got an appointment today.  She was scheduled to be in surgery today.

After examining my sweet boy Dr. Soutter determined he is having another allergic reaction.  Luckily for us we caught it before it became infected.  Thankfully they didn’t have to shave his head this year.

Tonight he started a short-term dose of steroids and Dr. Soutter wants him to remain on the Benadryl for a bit.

When I went back looking for last year’s blog post I noticed I had mentioned I needed to find a hat for him to wear in the spring/summer so as not to expose his head to whatever it is that he is allergic too.

I still haven’t done that.

I also noticed how horrible my writing was at that point!

My goal for writing a daily blog was to improve my writing skills.

Based upon what I looked at today, I think I’ve succeeded.

Have you ever gone back and looked at earlier posts to critique yourself?

Comments on: "My Vet’s In A Sling!" (18)

  1. Oh Dog! I’m glad things are better with Sampson! DeDe has taught me alot about how those allergy things can be….

  2. Give Sampson my love. He’s a sweet pup!

  3. Oh poor Sampson, feel better real quick big guy!

    And yes I have, I think I have gotten better at writing, or at least I try 😉

    Stop over I left something for you on my post today 🙂

  4. It may just be that you are refining your literary criticism skill.

    Hope Sampson can overcome and doesn’t have to wear a hat.

  5. Poor Sampson 😦 I hope the meds work quickly. I love your writing Jodi. You have a very natural and candid style that I like a lot. Although it’s sometimes helpful to go back and look at earlier writing I wouldn’t be critical – it’s the story that is important. I have looked at my earlier posts and sometimes think that I could have written them differently but I know they are a snapshot in time and we shouldn’t re-write history! 🙂

  6. Oh poor Sampson! Do you think he’ll wear a hat?

  7. Poor Sampson – Cali is usually chewing on her paws and belly and Benadryl does nothing to slow her down! I hope he is feeling better soon. It’s only been a year since I started my blog, so I haven’t gone back and read any of my earlier posts, but I am trying not to edit myself so much and write from the heart – I think you do a great job of that. 🙂

  8. Feel better Sampson! At least you seem to be a bit better off than your vet 🙂
    Bella and DiDi

  9. get well soon, sampson

  10. Funny how fate intervened so you could get an appointment. I hope he feels better soon…I wonder what he is allergic too?

    Oh god, yes, I’ve looked at old posts – and old stories – and think…”What was I thinking???”

  11. Poor guy. He must rub his head against something which causes it? I guess I wasn’t following your blog back then, but I thought your older post was fine. 🙂

  12. Hope Sampson gets better soon.
    I don’t have to go as far back as years or months, I usually read back what I wrote teh same day and think “Ohh Zeus, what is that?! What I meant to day? Well, That was random?” applies to both comments and posts lol

  13. Poor Mr. Sampson! I hope the steroids are giving him some relief!
    I wonder if your vet needs another assistant while she is in a sling!:)

    Sometimes I look back at my posts when I first started my blog and I just want to delete the whole post!

  14. While not at all surprising that you caught this early on, thankfully you did and sorry to hear that Sampson is suffering from allergies. Re looking back at old posts and anything else I’ve written in the past, I’ve found that such reviews are only a valuable exercise if I’m in the right state of mind. Since on some days I welcome constructive criticism (from others and myself) and on other days it will send me into a downward spiral, choosing the right time to review my past work is critical if I want those reviews to be productive learning experiences!!!!

  15. After reading about how you’d react to having your vet’s cell number I’m getting the mildest suspicion that perhaps her shoulder injury was no accident.

    Say it sin’t so, Jodi. 🙂

  16. Hey Sampson, Hey Delilah, Jet here. Hi Miss Jodi.

    Oh no, dude, so sorry to hear about your reaction. 😦 Glad Mom caught it early and your Dr. was able to fit you in. (sorry she is injured… )

    Hey Sampson, how about a “gone fishin'” style hat… or… a cowboy hat… or a southern gentleman cap? You could be dapper Sam!

  17. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Poor Sampson,

    I hope he’s feeling better soon, lucky that he got an earlier appointment so he could start the other meds as well 🙂

    A Hat? I’m curious to see what he gets, will it be a cool one like the one I’m wearing in this picture? Or how about a Bandana?

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  18. […] My Vet’s In A Sling – Update […]

Leave a comment