Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

We have a bunch of different mushrooms growing in and around our hiking trails.  Since I have a dog that LOVES to eat anything off the ground I have to watch her around the mushrooms.  So far (knock on wood) I haven’t CAUGHT her eating a mushroom.

We have a huge variety of mushrooms and I took pictures of the different mushrooms in the area with the intent of writing about them.  Unfortunately I don’t have the time (or the inclination) to research and name every single mushroom.

I googled poisonous mushrooms and from looking at the pictures it doesn’t seem like the mushrooms in my area are poisonous, still I’m not willing to take a chance with my dogs, so they will not be eating any mushrooms if I have anything to say about it!

So without further ado, here are pictures of the mushrooms I saw on our walk yesterday.  (Their names have been changed….to protect the innocent.)

Spotted Brown Cap

Fairy Table

Red-Headed Step-Child

Clustershrooms

Chipmunk Steps

Areolas

Weebles (Cause’ it wobbles, but it won’t fall down)

While some of my names may be funny, your dog eating something poisonous is not.  Especially if you are out in the field or woods and not close to your vet.  So please be cautious when walking your precious babies.

Comments on: "The Names Have Been Changed….Day Two Hundred, Nineteen" (9)

  1. Lilliana said:

    Had a great laugh with those!! Although I would have named the firs onet red headed stepchild!!!

  2. Lilliana said:

    Had a laugh with those names! Although I would have named the first one the Red headed step child. lol!!

  3. pawsitivelife said:

    In poland my family always went mushroom picking. Looking back I think its so dangerous, but thats maybe because I dont know which I could eat or not

  4. Michelle Martins said:

    Hysterical!! I thought I loved red headed step child but then came areolas!!

  5. So many kinds of mushrooms. I am sure I will remember your names better than the real ones…lol.

Leave a comment