Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Follow-Up Friday

For those new to the blog, my follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby!

Be The Dog – Author’s Note

I think this started with Lena West’s “You can do it now or NOW.”  I sat down to write a witty blog post about how Lena had motivated me and boom!  There it was, “Be The Dog.”

I love it.  Be The Dog.

I could see the tee-shirts, bumper stickers, speaking engagements (why not, it’s my fantasy.) 🙂

Then I checked the trademark office and the saying is trademarked.

Boo.  Hiss.

I’m still working out the kinks on this one, so hold tight.

No-One Calls My Dog A Behemoth! – Author’s Note

I should have been clear in the post.  Delilah came to us from a rescue.   The vet who originally examined her said she was spayed.  The rescue took the vet’s word because….well you should trust your vet.

As soon as I realized she was in heat, I contacted the rescue.  Originally they agreed to pay $125.00 which is the normal fee they paid their vets for spaying.

Delilah’s spaying was $325.00.  They told me it was so high because she was a big dog, had already had a litter of puppies and she still had a lot of the pregnancy fat that they had to go through to spay her.

Delilah’s adoption fee was $375.00 and here we were three months later shelling out another $325.00 making her a $700.00 dog.  So much for rescuing I thought.

But the rescue ponied up the entire $325.00.  The vet’s office faxed over the bill and we had a check in hand within a matter of days.

I was not upset with the rescue, they received the wrong information and they made it right.  You can’t ask for much more than that.

As for that vet from hell, well a short time later I received a notice that the owner had sold the practice and it was under new ownership.  By this time I already had my new vet who I love.

Just like the previous owner, I left that practice and never looked back.

My blog was pretty focused on  “Just Be The Dog”  this past week, so that’s it for my Follow-Up Friday. 🙂

Have an awesome weekend.

 

Comments on: "Follow-Up Friday" (8)

  1. It seems to be a common problem for rescues to get incorrect info about whether a dog is spayed. I think I have written before that I know someone who adopted a bitch and not only was she not spayed, but she was pregnant. I can understand missing a spay, but a pregnancy!

    $375 seems a pricy adoption fee. You can buy a lab with health clearances for not much more than that. Not saying you would, just the average person. No wonder there are so many dogs stuck in rescue.

    • I wonder how many dogs each vet is looking at and how thoroughly they examine them?

      Yeah I don’t get how you can miss a pregnancy. The funny thing is I looked at her and couldn’t find a scar. I questioned it myself.

      Well I think the adoption fees covered all her shots, her chip, her transport etc…plus a little for their efforts. I also think it helps to deter the bad people who would get a cheap dog and use it for nefarious schemes. 🙂

      • I realize what the adoption fee covers, but I still think it is just too high in most cases. Shots are not that expensive, chips you can get on discount if you do several at a time. I do understand deterring unfit owners, but I do not think cost alone does that (the shelters are full of designer pets which prove differently). My point is that maybe those high fees also deter fit owners that can care for a dog, but not swing almost $400 adoption fee. That is where screening and follow-up comes in.

      • I agree with that! I thought, shit I could go to the pound and spend $50 and get the same thing! I guess they need to make money to pull more dogs. 🙂

  2. Some friends adopted a rescue dog that was not spayed, according to the veterinarian who examined her. So they took her in and, ooop!! the uterus seemed to be missing when they opened her up. I guess it works both ways when you are dealing with unknown pasts.

    • Snap Jan, that’s bad! LOL poor dog to have to go through it twice!

      As I stated above I checked her for a scar and couldn’t see anything so I wondered if that vet ever even looked at her.

  3. As per previous comments, I agree that the adoption fee seems excessive. Here, you would pay the equivalent of under $60, from shelters that keep the animals in superb environments for as long as they need it (life, if no home can be found).

  4. Have a great weekend Jodi, relax and “Just Be The Dog” 🙂

Leave a comment