Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Follow Up Friday

For those new to the blog, my follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby! :-)

She’s At It Again – Author’s Note

So far I’ve picked up a LOT of poop.  Honestly, I’m embarrassed and disgusted that there is so much poop in my yard.  I blame it on Hubby who did not remove the leaves this year.  Yes, the leaves which were not removed by Hubby have been preserving poop, either that or someone is jumping over the fence and pooping in my yard.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

I’ve been trying to get out there and pick up the fresh poop every day.  It’s hard to go outside with them and pick it up immediately, you saw the yard, it’s big!

And those dogs are fast, so very fast.  They move much quicker than I do.  Heck she can get out there and snarf down a poop faster than I can get out the door.

I don’t have to tell you that it’s not always easy with everything else going on, but I’m trying.  I admonish her too when she steps outside, “No eating poop, you hear me?”

But we all know how well she listens to me. 🙂

The Dog I Need – Author’s Note

Well really I feel like I can’t even comment on this, based upon the posts that followed less than 48 hours later.

Coconut Oil – Author’s Note

I sautéed asparagus in coconut oil the other night, with just a little bit of garlic and it was yummo!

Coconut oil, it’s not just for dogs.

Oh and I also noticed something Koly pointed out, Sampson’s breath was really fresh.  It didn’t smell nasty at all, and it was in the morning (morning breath, is there anything worse?) 🙂

Defeated and Lost, Parts 1 and 2 – Author’s Note/Update

I just want to clear the air, Part 2 was written IMMEDIATELY after Part 1, it’s not like I thought about it for days.  Or I slept on it overnight, they were originally going to be one extremely long post, so I broke it into two parts. The posts were written when the incident was really fresh and raw.  I felt discouraged, it happens.

Truthfully it wouldn’t have been nearly as traumatic for me if she hadn’t gotten stuck.  It was (for me) a mortifying experience, along with the realization that she could have really gotten hurt.

My friend Mindy gave me a pep talk, Sara gave me a pep talk and some suggestions, all of you gave me encouragement and suggestions, I’m back on track.

What these two posts showed me was what a wonderful and strong support unit I have in my blogville family.  I want to thank you all again for hanging in there with me and reassure you, I have a handle on this and I am NOT, I repeat NOT giving up on Delilah.

Delilah and I will be working tomorrow and Sunday and I will let you know what we do and how it goes.

Our week was a little rocky, but we are back on track.  How was your week?

Book update: My book has 18,346 words.

Comments on: "Follow Up Friday" (8)

  1. It AMAZES me how much you do and still have time to answer my prayer. Still waiting for return call from Monty’s Dad, but you gave us an alternative to Monty’s fate. Maybe it will work out.. I want to thank you Jodi. my week was great in part, because of you…Thanks Again…

    • Awe Debbie, that’s so sweet of you to say. I’m just glad that I had an alternative for him and I hope it works out. 🙂

      Life is busy and we don’t always get as much time as we’d like to spend with the people who touch our lives. I’m just grateful for the internet and facebook so I can keep in touch with you!!

      Bless you for trying to help Monty!

  2. I knew you would never give up on Delilah. 🙂 You just have to find your way and you will. I look forward to hearing how the weekend goes.

    To further help your pep talk, here is a little story. Someone we train with has a Chessie out of field trial lines. As a young dog, it was so wild that it broke her wrist. She came to our trainer begging for help with her wild/crazy dog. That was 2 1/2 years ago. Last week the dog earned its Master Hunter title. The dog is sweet and happy and calm. It just needed the right training and an outlet for all of that energy. I suspect Delilah has a lot of drive. You find the right training and watch her fly.

    • Thank you for that! I will find something that works, and of course will share it with you whether you want me to or not. 😉

      I wish I knew of a hunt trainer in our area, I’d give that shot (no pun intended.) 🙂

  3. I am so happy to hear that you are back on track Jodi!

  4. Duh, we all knew you weren’t giving up on your girl! That’s one of the things i love about this wonderful community. The support!

    Thanks for the shout out!! Dog breath at Casa de Kochak is still good. Maybe it has to do with the antibacterial properties of coconut oil??

    • Awe, thanks Jodi!! It is a wonderful, supportive community. I feel like I have one huge family. 🙂

      Yes I think the antibacterial has something to do with it and I’ve also added some salmon oil which I would have thought would make their breath stinky but so far so good. :-=)

Leave a comment