Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Be The Dog

Back in April, Pamela over at Something Wagging had a post titled, You Can’t Do That! Oh yeah? Watch Me.

In the post Pamela made the observation that there are so many people who tell us what we cannot do.  Pamela stated “Well I like surprises—people and animals that do awesome things because they don’t know they’re not expected to do them well.”

Then she posted a video of a St. Bernard doing agility.

I know.  Not normally a dog you would associate with that sport.

But here’s the kicker, the St. Bernard has no idea that the agility ring isn’t designed for large dogs, he just knows that it’s something he enjoys doing.  And he does it quite well I might add.

In the comments I noted in response to another blogger’s comment, “it’s much harder trying to do something others tell you, you can’t, then doing something when you just don’t know better.”

I ended the post with, “Be the St. Bernard.”

Pamela said it was a lovely mantra.

A couple of weeks ago Pamela had another post, Don’t Worry About Messing Up Your Hair, in which she noted dog’s aren’t self-conscious like humans are.

A dog doesn’t care what it looks like after rolling in that mud puddle, the dog just knows that the mud puddle looks fun.  After this post I noted perhaps the mantra should change from Be The St. Bernard to Be The Dog.

Dogs have a way of living in the moment, it doesn’t matter how their day went, if you come home and say want to go for a walk, the dog seizes the opportunity.

The dog has no idea of what it can’t do.  Can’t isn’t a word dogs understand.

After listening to today’s keynote speaker, Lena West via the live stream from BlogPaws 2012 Conference I’ve decided I need to take can’t out of my vocabulary.

There are a number of things I need to do if I want to take this blog to the next level.

If I want this blog to live up to its full potential, I need to seize opportunities.

I need to be the dog.

Comments on: "Be The Dog" (21)

  1. Great post as always Jodi. I’m on the opposite side of the spectrum…I take “you can’t do it” as a challenge! 🙂

    • It’s not the ‘you can’t do its’ that get me, it’s the can’t I put on myself, because I am too afraid to take the chance.

  2. It’s always amazing to me how a dog will deal with a disability, missing limb, deaf, blind, life goes on for them with no play for sympathy or special treatment.

  3. We got much to learn from dogs. Really nice post.

  4. What a positive blog. I love the catchphrase “be the dog”. I think I will try to live it!

  5. Love this blog. I’m sure you are going to create the next fad (and not a bad one at that), of Be The Dog (although maybe a bit of catitude in there might also help)

    • Thank you, yes I agree we should learn from all animals they are very smart! Oh and can you please check your spam, I think my comments are going in there! 😦

  6. I think you are already in the process of being the dog, you just need to believe in yourself like we all believe in you and see your amazing potential!

  7. Its a great mantra!

  8. Can’t wait to see what you come up with. Good luck!

  9. Glad I’ve been able to provide some food for thought. And not surprised at all that Lena West helped kick you into high gear.

    Looking forward to seeing you wagging that tail as you explore bigger and better things! Be the Dog, Jodi!

  10. Awesome new mantra that couldn’t be more true. Great name for a book, product line, the list is endless…. get a logo and trademark the name now!!!!

  11. […] Be The Dog – Author’s Note […]

  12. […] my Be The Dog post, I indicated I wanted to take this blog to the next level.  Well that level is coming up and […]

Leave a comment