Life with Sampson and Delilah….The 411

Last week I wrote a post about Sampson and his efforts to get to the field on one of our walks so he could greet some fellow hikers.  Sampson not being a projective thinker had no idea once he reached the field the hikers would have moved on.

I let him lead us to the field, but he was disappointed that they were no longer there.

What I didn’t write about was how at the end our walk, the hikers Sampson was so eager to greet were just exiting the field as we approached.

His persistence paid off.

My topic now turns to poop.  Listen, if you are in my inner circle you talk poop.  It’s that simple.  Poop happens so you might as well talk about it, chuckle about it whatever.  It’s a fact of life.

When I’m walking the dogs I keep a good eye on them while they poop.  Since they are on the raw diet their poops can be really hard.   Sometimes I swear it looks like Sampson is pooping sand, it’s that dry.

One of my friends who feeds raw told me her dog’s poop was so hard, it hurt Lily when she pooped.  Ever since then, I’ve kept a good eye on them to make sure they aren’t uncomfortable.

Last night during our walk Delilah was trying to drop a deuce.  She has a tendency to squat, drop, walk etc.

Delilah assumed the position and I saw a little gopher pop its head out, but then it went back in.  She took a couple of steps and tried again but still nothing happened.   She looked at her backside (I’m not sure if she was trying to scare it out or what) and tried once again.

I pulled out my cell phone and called the vet.

Luckily I got right through and the gal on the end of the line was able to send a vet tech back to speak directly with the Dr.

While I was waiting for a response, Delilah kept trying.

It took her a couple of minutes but she eventually showed that turd who was the boss.  But she only passed the one.

Meanwhile the vet tech came back on the line with this juicy tidbit, Dr. Soutter said to try to run Delilah a little (it was hot as blue blazes out) and if I felt comfortable I could reach down there and pull it out.

(No thanks, I’d rather pay you $50 to do that.)

I mean if it was a matter of life and death, of course I would have done it, but she was persistent and kept at it and it paid off.

I did take her down to the field and ran for about a minute, (siriusly it was hot out) and of course I kept an eye on her to make sure she pooped. (She did this morning.)

Persistence pays off, Just Be The Dog.

Comments on: "Persistence Pays Off – Just Be The Dog" (24)

  1. Lilliana said:

    A spoonful of pumpkin purée does the trick too! And they love the taste!

  2. “Reach down there and pull it out”….. LOVE IT.

  3. We have both been where Delilah was. Yikes! We’re glad she is doing better. Persistence can be the name of the poop game.

    Bella and DiDi

  4. Ah yes the poop talk! I have actually been complimented by my vets for being a good poop watcher 😉
    “reach down there and pull it out” love it!!

    Riva isn’t on a raw diet but she used to have a problem going when we would go away to a dog show and stay in motels. One time it was so bad she even cried, broke my heart. The solution I came up with for her is to feed canned food when we are away and she has not had a problem since.

    Maybe increase the amount of pumpkin she is getting until you start to see a change in the consistency.

    • It’s strange, that is the first time she has had issues, except for when she eats grass of course. LOL

      Sampson won’t eat while we are away, but he still potties. :O

  5. Now I feel like a bad dog mama. I don’t pay that much attention until it’s time to pick it up, but if there was a problem wouldn’t they tell me?

    • Well they might not always be able to tell you. I watch it because of the raw diet, As they age I like to watch too as they may get uncomfortable or have trouble with their legs. Just call me silly. 🙂

  6. I’m a groomer, poop is a natural thing for me too. Aladdin eats raw sometimes, but his poo is never that hard. He does drink as much water whenever possible though, so maybe he’s flooding on the inside? There has to be something edible and still super nutritious that will help soften that. I feel like this is my next search, especially since when I get the poodle I want, she’ll be on raw, and I’m not a patient person when it comes to waiting for the dog to poo. So impatient in fact you could probably catch me telling Aladdin, GO POO! He looks at me (so do the neighbors awkwardly) and he goes poo. lol If I find an answer that seems reasonable, I’ll make sure I share the juicy details! ^_^

    • LOL I do that too but with pee. I say, “Do pee pees” and they do. But never the poo, I let them work that out on their own, BUT I am also not in an apartment so I can just let them out into the fenced back yard and they can do there thing. If you do research it, be sure to let me know!

  7. Glad all came out okay. Yeah, I’d pay the vet for that too. We had a cat with anal gland issues as well….it was money well spent to let the vet do the dirty deed. 🙂

    • Hell yes! I always have the vet check their glands and drain them if necessary. The last time Delilah had it done Hubby was right behind her. I can’t even imagine the sight that met his eyes! LOL

  8. Ha-ha! I loved how called it a gopher! Still laughing over that one!

    • I started giggling when I typed, “drop a deuce.” Before we added new people to our office it wasn’t uncommon for me to buzz one of my co-workers and say, “I’m prairie-dogging.” LOL I am definitely a poop person!

  9. I thought for a moment that Delilah was going to do a dump o n the gopher! Poor thing. Delilah I mean. Georgia is on half raw and on the days she eats bones, her poop is firm and brittle but so far, thankfully, nothing like what you describe. Sounds ike you might have to add a….for lack of a better word, softener 😉

    • They get oil with their meals which should help ‘grease the pipes.’ Usually salmon oil with breakfast and coconut oil with dinner. In a case like this, I just made sure to swap the coconut for olive and it seemed to help. 🙂

  10. Our old dog licked her fur, and sometimes it ended up in the poop. Sometimes a long piece of her fur made the poop dangle. I used a poopy bag wrapped around my hand and gently pulled the poop out. My dog yelped a little, but I got that strangly piece of fur out. I could tell my dog was glad I was there to help her out. The things we do for our furry friends!

    • LOL Mary Ann!!! Poop dangle. I can’t stop laughing. Sampson had the same thing happen because of grass and I did the same thing! It happened to Delilah a couple of weeks ago and she was too impatient. Before I could get the baggie out she turned around and snapped it off with her teeth! OMG I can’t stop laughing.

  11. I bet that gopher will think twice about popping his head out again…lol. I wonder if Delilah is getting enough liquid? Too soft is not good, but I imagine too hard is not good either. (And we talk poop all the time.)

    • She does drink a lot of water but she tends to do it all at once, which worries me. So I will tell her enough. Maybe she does need more water though, I will have to work on this one. I love talking poop!

Leave a comment